Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

1994 XJ not charging properly on wet days.

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2017, 10:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1994
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0
Default 1994 XJ not charging properly on wet days.

Hey all, I'm a newbie here and I need a hand right quick if you can. I'm sorry if this is long, but surprisingly I've found very little help on the internet on this, so I want to be detailed. I have a 1994 Cherokee (XJ) 4.0 and I noticed my charging meter dipping down to just above the red, but only on wet days and only when I come to a stop. It shoots way back up when I accelerate. The battery and alternator both show some age, but a bench test at Autozone showed both to be good. For some damn reason, the manufacturer decided to put the alternator down at the bottom (under the AC). Since this only happened whenever I drove on rainy days, I assumed some water was splashing up onto the alternator, causing it to malfunction, despite me having a skid plate that seems to cover it completely from the bottom. The other day it was raining and I started it up to go to work and I noticed the meter dipped to just above the red, but I had just started the damn thing, hadn't even driven it yet that day, so nothing was wet yet under there. That really confused me. A few months ago I removed that black rubbery mat from underneath that blocks the mud, to change the rear main seal (that was a fun one). I couldn't figure out how to weave it into the steering components to get it back on, so I left it off and now my serpentine belt is probably getting a little wet, because it squeals occasionally now. Could be the belt slipping, causing the alternators performance to slip, right? Well this has been going on for almost a year now and it's getting annoying. Every time it's wet out and I come to a re