Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

1994 Cherokee quits on me

Old 04-10-2010, 07:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Post 1994 Cherokee quits on me

Hi, I am having problems with my 1994 Cherokee. It will get me to work every time, but on the way home it just dies on me. I will restart it and it will drive a little bit and die again. Sometimes it takes 20 times and all of a sudden it will get me home! The engine is not running hot, the radiator is o.k. , I changed the water pump, thermostats, fuel filter, and much more. I am not a mechanic, so if any one out there can give me any advice, I would appreciate it!
Old 04-10-2010, 08:26 AM
"CF Moderator"

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1994
Engine: l6 HO

Originally Posted by Gerald
Hi, I am having problems with my 1994 Cherokee. It will get me to work every time, but on the way home it just dies on me. I will restart it and it will drive a little bit and die again. Sometimes it takes 20 times and all of a sudden it will get me home! The engine is not running hot, the radiator is o.k. , I changed the water pump, thermostats, fuel filter, and much more. I am not a mechanic, so if any one out there can give me any advice, I would appreciate it!
Hi and welcome to CF from Tj, sounds like either a fuel problem or possibly the CPS (crank position sensor) I had same problem in my 94 with it just stalling out so this could be the problem. Here is a link on how you can change it...Tj
http://go.jeep-xj.info/HowtoCPSchange.htm
Old 04-10-2010, 09:21 AM
"CF Moderator"

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1994
Engine: l6 HO

CPS Testing

TESTING PROCEDURE 1991 – 2001 4.0L H.O. engines
1. Near the rear of intake manifold, disconnect sensor pigtail harness connector from main wiring harness.