Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

00 4.0 - 20psi on 1 cylinder after head replacement

Old 12-26-2017, 08:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 00 4.0 - 20psi on 1 cylinder after head replacement

First time poster. I have been using these forums forever. helped so much on my 1992 cherokee and now has helped a ton on a 2000 I have.
im not a mechanic just mechanically inclined. i read stuff here, i watch some videos, i try it. if i get stuck i watch some more.

this is a 2000 jeep grand cherokee 4.0, automatic. 4wd. Think I posted in the wrong section but I don't see how to move it. sorry.

It all started with a cylinder 5 misfire and violent shaking while 50-60mph as well as bad idle. I chased down everything. injector, coil pack, both o2 sensors, im sure theres more that I can't recall. everything in that misfire thread thats around here somewhere.
Ended up doing a compression test. all cylinders 130+ psi except for cylinder 5. 20psi. put a little oil in the cylinder, still 20psi.

when I removed the cylinder head I found antifreeze in the cylinder along with the little bit of oil i put in there for the test. figured it was a cracked head (right? anything else other than head gasket that would cause that?) but i cant find the crack in the old head. whatever, i already bought the new head so on it goes....
replaced cylinder head with a TUPY. all new gaskets, etc.
almost had everything reassembled when I noticed the one rocker above cylinder 5 is loose after torquing. i can flick it and it sounds like a jingle bell.