WJ Grand Cherokee Master Cylinder and Booster Upgrade How-To

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2009, 09:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default WJ Grand Cherokee Master Cylinder and Booster Upgrade How-To

I'm working on upgrading my 88 XJ's master cylinder and single diaphragm power brake booster (NON ABS) to the newer and more powerful 2002 WJ master cylinder and dual diaphragm power brake booster.

This was my original source of information - http://www.4x4wire.com/jeep/tech/bra...kes03/booster/

I think I can make a better write-up.

Tools Used - wrenches, flare nut wrenches, various sockets/ratchets/extensions, small pipe cutter, brake line double flaring tool kit

What you need is a 1999-2004 Grand Cherokee WJ master cylinder and brake booster. Save the nuts that bolt the booster to the firewall and the lines that attach the to master cylinder. You also reuse the XJ pedal and brake light switch.

I got a used 2002 master cylinder and booster for $108 from Kubis Auto Parts in Auburn, NY (you can order from them online).

Remove the old master cylinder and booster by disconnecting the lines from master cylinder and removing the four bolts inside the passenger compartment on the firewall. Unbolt the one bolt holding the pedal and disconnect the brake light switch.

New on the left, old on the right...

New rod you have to modify...

Old rod...

I used a step drill to drill out the hole in the new rod until the bushings for the pedal bolt fit securely.

Next you have to grind the flat spot for the brake light switch. Old rod thickness measurement...

New rod thickness measurement before grinding and after drilling...

After grinding, an acceptable thickness IMO...

With the brake light switch on the new rod...

Now for the brake lines...