New member, previous lurker. 93 XJ HO Basic, advice on where to proceed

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2016, 01:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default New member, previous lurker. 93 XJ HO Basic, advice on where to proceed

Hey all, thank for reading.

I'm a professional brewer for a small 7bbl pub in Salt Lake City UT, and also tinker a bit in my spare time. I love motorcycles (currently have 3), shooting guns, reloading for them, and started welding a little here and there. I've got experience as a mechanic years ago and one of the most common vehicles I would service were Jeep XJ cherokees. So, after owning 15 other vehicles I finally got a Jeep XJ, and it's been kind of a headache as well as a blast of fun.

It's a super base model, meaning all manual doors, windows, no rear wiper, no overhead light switches, just purely basic. Has an AX15 manual trans which really sold me, as I've seen the autos are most common. Sitting at 172k when I bought it, it needed nothing really to pass emissions except idle CO ppm. So here's what I've done:

Plugs, wires, cap, rotor, air filter twice, fuel filter, oil changes, seafoam treatments, diff service rear, front diff siphon drain and refill, transfer case ATF changed, manual trans oil dumped (smelled sulphery, and shifting was difficult) to Mobil 1 10w 30 full synthetic, shifts great now. Also replaced gauge cluster to a gauge system, replaced coolant temp sensor, coolant temp sender (which is off by 30 degrees, thanks autozone), and an oil pressure sending unit. I've flushed the coolant system with Prestone Clean and flush, and refilled with fresh fluid, and swapped the 160F Tstat out to a 195F. Also put in Gabriel ProGuards shocks all the way around. I got lucky with my rear shock mounting bolts. Lots of PB blaster, lots of patience, lots of back and forth, back and forth. Took about an hour each side but they came out, and got a slathering of antisieze.