1986 2.1L Turbo Diesel XJ in Idaho!

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2012, 01:33 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Year: 1986
Model: Cherokee
Engine: Renault 2.1L Turbo Diesel
Default 1986 2.1L Turbo Diesel XJ in Idaho!

I'm new to the Cherokee group and wanted to introduce myself, and let you all know about a very cool 1986 Cherokee project that I just acquired this week. Its powered with the Renault 2.1L turbo diesel, mated to a 5-speed manual transmission.

The engine runs great, but it has a leaking head gasket that I will likely be replacing soon. Its leaking into the coolant system, causing it to pressurize and spew coolant out of the degas/overflow bottle. The engine oil looks fine and is not milky at all, indicating no coolant into the lubrication system.

I have driven it a few times, and have about 100 miles on it so far. There is no indication from the coolant temp gauge that its overheating at all, and I have been keeping a close eye on it while keeping the coolant level topped off as needed. I figure I will first try to torquing the head bolts down, then drive it some and see it that helps, prior to pulling the head to swap out the gasket. I also have a new timing belt on order, so I will be replacing that too, as I do not have a record indicating when it was last replaced. I figure that its better to be safe, than sorry with this interference type engine. No bent lifters for me!

Here are a few photos of my new baby.
Attached Images      
The following 2 users liked this post by Bearup:
231James (12-20-2022), seereal (06-25-2022)
Old 11-28-2012, 02:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1991
Engine: 4.0 H.O.

Welcome to the world of the Cherokee from AZ.
Old 11-29-2012, 01:02 AM

Year: 1989
Engine: 4.0

Very cool, how did you find it! What did u pay??
Old 11-29-2012, 01:38 AM
CF Veteran

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by Char92dj8
Very cool, how did you find it! What did u pay??
There very common.
There are 4 in junkyards near me lol