Jeep Cherokee Forum

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > Modified Cherokee Tech
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Welcome to Cherokee Forum!
Welcome to Cherokee Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

Closed Thread

submit to reddit

Old 12-29-2011, 11:23 PM   #1

View ajsilva1973's Photo Album My Photos
2001 Cherokee
Exclamation Pros and Cons with catalytic converter removal

Hello everyone. I have a 2001 stock XJ. The "check engine" light came on a few weeks ago so I brought it to my mechanic, and he said that according to the code the catalytic converter is "under threshold". I am not a mechanic, but I am in no way afraid to get my hands dirty working on my vehicle. I was thinking of removing it entirely, but I'm unsure if it will cause further problems down the road. I know it won't pass the safety inspection here in MA, because the engine light will be on, but I am not concerned with that at all. Also, since the converter problem, my MPG has dropped substantially. Thank for any help you can provide.
Old 12-29-2011, 11:26 PM   #2
CF Veteran

View mr white's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee

Cons: It's illegal. Case close.
Old 12-29-2011, 11:28 PM   #3
Seasoned Member

View ClaytonXJ's Photo Album My Photos
96 Cherokee

Pros: more power, You don't have a mobile torch under your vehicle waiting to light your carpet and woods on fire while wheeling (they get hot).
Cons: cherokee forum gets mad at you and you don't pass emissions.
Old 12-29-2011, 11:33 PM   #4

View melikeyfishy's Photo Album My Photos
89 Cherokee