Sponsored by: DashLynx

Getting my first XJ this week!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2014, 03:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Getting my first XJ this week!!

Hey all!
I'm new to Jeeps and off-road stuff in general. I've done a good deal of research, but I want some expert opinions on my gear choices. The 2000 or 01 Xj (don’t remember which one I had the dealership transfer) I am getting this week, is the stock dana 30 front and Chrysler 8.25 rear. Seems like a good rig. Its very clean, about 160k miles.

Anyway, this is what I want to add to it, to make an expedition/towing/basic off-roading rig.

Transmission Cooler
Spectre 9948 Air Intake
Skyjacker JC31BKH 3” lift
30”-31” Tires (haven’t yet decided which ones, going to be something from Mickey Thompson tho.)
Dynomax 17340 Exhaust
Superwinch 1595200 9500lbs winch (how should I mount it?)

Want to make something that is a DD and back country camping rig. Any thoughts on this setup? Thanks everyone!
Old 07-22-2014, 09:34 PM
CF Veteran

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 with all of the noise and clatter

I would leave the air intake and use the money towards a winch bumper. But before you modify your first 4x4 you should take it off road bone stock first to get a feel for it and see how well it does. Wheeling a stock rig will make you a better driver and teach you how to pick a good line over an obstacle. Have fun and be carefully with your new Jeep.
Old 07-23-2014, 06:49 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4L, 6 cylinder, 190 hp, 225 ft lp torque

I agree with bustedback, you would learn allot about your rig and your own skill off-roading stock.