Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Frame Stiffeners F & R ??? - Detour, H.D Engineering, or ???

Old 07-24-2015, 10:17 PM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Frame Stiffeners F & R ??? - Detour, H.D Engineering, or ???

I don't do much rock crawling ' off camber, and I am running stock axles with 35's, at what point do I need to worry about plating more than the center section???? and doing the front and back.

I was pretty much sold on Detour Frame Stiffeners and Rok Slyders (Mainly great reviews and ease of installation) - about $545 shipped, Yes I pay a little more, and Yes its about $100 over my current budget, Plus for one its also not in the budget to have a good welder do all the welding (I am still learning on my Lincoln 180) and second its a pain to clean all those areas for the plug welds and stitching. Detour's I just bolt in and weld a few plug areas on each side instead.

I started to consider the H.D. Engineering plates Front, Middle, & Rear for $330 shipped, then making my own rock sliders. Theirs are 10 gauge which I question if they are thick enough ??

At most maybe one day I will go with 37's, front Dana 44 and rear 44, 60 or 14 bolt, but anything bigger would be overbuilt for my area and make my wheeling boring, and I might go rock climbing a couple time a year at a Off Road Park and that is about it, but other wise its hills, drop offs, and mud here in Florida

I started with a never wheeled 2 wheel body, so I know I want to get Frame Stiffeners in before she ever see's off road. This will be a 90% Trail Rig and 10% street getting there.

Thoughts and Opinions are welcomed. Thanks,
Old 07-24-2015, 10:35 PM
::CF Administrator::

Received 770 Likes on 524 Posts
Year: 97
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.6 stroker