Jeep Cherokee Forum

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > Modified Cherokee Tech
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Cherokee Forum!
Welcome to Cherokee Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2011, 04:42 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Modestmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Fresnos, Texas
Posts: 706

View Modestmike's Photo Album My Photos
2k Cherokee
Default Distribution block and relay.

I've searched and read some interesting things but this is more of a sanity check just to be sure. I know very little about electrical wiring and components.

I'm wanting to redo the mess of wires on my XJs rock lights, electric fan, and front spot lights. I plan on installing a distribution fuse block on the passenger side firewall. Now I know thAt the DFB will get a power from the battery with a wire and an inline fuse. From there I will have a hot wire from the DFB to #30 on the relay. #85 will be ground for the relay and #87 goes to the accessory( lights or fan). My real question is where the switch in the cab come into play. Do I need to give it a hot wire from the fuse block and then the accessory terminal goes to #86 on the relay? So with this setup I need to supply power to a switch and then the relay has it's own power source?

Sorry if it sounds confusing.
Modestmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 04:50 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Modestmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Fresnos, Texas
Posts: 706

View Modestmike's Photo Album My Photos
2k Cherokee
Default

Just to clarify my confusion, I have seen a few setups and the wires are different on a few relays. The numbers are the same (30, 85, 86, and 87) but the ground seems to either go to 86 or 85. Not sure which one is correct. I'd like to see what anyone here has done so I know I'm doing it right.
Modestmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 05:00 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
radio flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Highlands Ranch Co.
Posts: 715

View radio flyer's Photo Album My Photos
1985 shell Cherokee
Send a message via Yahoo to radio flyer
Default

Either is O.K.Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Got Mountain ?
WHEELING-----Embrace the sickness
http://www.panoramio.com/user/4981821 Click here for my wheeling trips!
http://youtu.be/F3T0ZSplDss Latest project!
radio flyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 05:07 PM   #4
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: AnkaraTurkey
Posts: 291

View gmv93's Photo Album My Photos
1997 Grand Cherokee
Default

relay is a very simple component. it acts like a very big and strong switch. it has two trigger wires and two hot wires. there are several types of relays but. some of them allows current to pass, some prevents it to pass.

when current applied to trigger wire, it "lets" the current pass thru on other two pins. you connect your power supply and your load to those pins.

you will connect your switch to 85, and other end of your switch will be connected to ground. 86 will be your live wire connected to battery or + on your configuration. 30 will be connected to battery again. 87 will be connected to load, lets say your lamp and other wire from your lamp will be connected to ground. so when you turn on your switch, it will trigger the pins which actually allows current flwo on themselves.

if you buy reverse kind of relay it turns off your lamp instead of turning it on because it will be letting current pass when it is "not" triggered.

which mean if you use this kind, when everything connected you will see your lamp is running all times except you use your switch.

http://summitracing.com/expertadvice...rygroup=HowTos

Last edited by gmv93; 02-26-2011 at 05:12 PM.
gmv93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 05:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Modestmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Fresnos, Texas
Posts: 706

View Modestmike's Photo Album My Photos
2k Cherokee
Default

The switch has three connections on back. Power,ground,and accessory. The ground on the switch is for the illuminated light in it. Again I'm lost in what you're saying. The switch will not need it's own power source then? So then I will be grounding the switch on the power or accessory terminal?
Modestmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 05:26 PM   #6
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: AnkaraTurkey
Posts: 291

View gmv93's Photo Album My Photos
1997 Grand Cherokee
Default

as far as i remember form ZJ, orange wire in jeep harness changes ground to + when you turn on key to acc position. it delivers power to illuminated things on dash board or anywhere else. as you see light behind your VIC or odometer etc.

forget about illumination of switch itself for a moment. switch will complete the wire connection between your relay ground to chassis ground. that is all. switch can not handle high current on itslef. it will be fried in seconds. that is why you need to turn on or off a relay by using your switch and additional power supply connection to it.

power or ground connection to switch is not related to (depending on your application) the power required by your lights orby your fan or by your horn etc.

to illuminate switch, you need to connect orange wire from jeep to illumination pin to your switch. when key is on or when you turn on parking lights it will be switch from common ground to + so your bulb inside your switch will illuminate. because current will be able to flow.

there is a switch in this diagram. it has three pins. your 12 volts will be your orange wire(becasue it is 12 volts when you rutnr on your key when no key no 12 volts only common ground). it is only to illuminte it. relay conneciton and ground are shown.

Click the image to open in full size.

Last edited by gmv93; 02-26-2011 at 05:31 PM.
gmv93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 07:31 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Modestmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Fresnos, Texas
Posts: 706

View Modestmike's Photo Album My Photos
2k Cherokee
Default

okay,but then if it is hooked up to the ignition then the lights, fan, etc, will only work with the key in the accessory position or on. I would like to be able to turn stuff on without the key in the ignition. With that said, I could just run the "supply" line from the switch to the distribution fuse block I have under the hood and have constant power right? Then I would just need to flip the switch correct?
Modestmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 07:58 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
radio flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Highlands Ranch Co.
Posts: 715

View radio flyer's Photo Album My Photos
1985 shell Cherokee
Send a message via Yahoo to radio flyer
Default

You can wire it hot all the time if thats what you need or want!
__________________
Got Mountain ?
WHEELING-----Embrace the sickness
http://www.panoramio.com/user/4981821 Click here for my wheeling trips!
http://youtu.be/F3T0ZSplDss Latest project!
radio flyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 08:42 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Modestmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Fresnos, Texas
Posts: 706

View Modestmike's Photo Album My Photos
2k Cherokee
Default

That's what I figured. I'm just worried about electrical fires so I guess I'm over thinking it. Thanks.
Modestmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 08:46 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
radio flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Highlands Ranch Co.
Posts: 715

View radio flyer's Photo Album My Photos
1985 shell Cherokee
Send a message via Yahoo to radio flyer
Default

Make sure that you fuse all of your power leads as close to your power source as possible, electrical fires can get nasty in a hurry!!!
__________________
Got Mountain ?
WHEELING-----Embrace the sickness
http://www.panoramio.com/user/4981821 Click here for my wheeling trips!
http://youtu.be/F3T0ZSplDss Latest project!
radio flyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 06:33 AM   #11
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: AnkaraTurkey
Posts: 291

View gmv93's Photo Album My Photos
1997 Grand Cherokee
Default

you can set everything live up alltimes. you will get trigger from you batery and power supply on other pins again on same battery. there will be no relation between key and your switch.

as an example you can even set a relay to trigger itself by using same power supply. I installed HID s to WK grand, then it start to flicker when it is doing bulb check. it was looking like a police car. then i installed relays before HID ballasts by supplying stock wiring voltage to both tirrger pins and load pins. and triggering time was longer than checking pulses in stock system, so it prevents ballasts to be turned on for a short time.

Last edited by gmv93; 02-27-2011 at 06:39 AM.
gmv93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 03:38 PM   #12
CF Veteran
 
posjeepxj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Indianola IOWA
Posts: 2,059

View posjeepxj's Photo Album My Photos
1992 Cherokee
Default

my low beams. kicked on by stock wiring
high beams. kicked on by stock wiring
and electric fan. power supplied by block inline grounded temp switch to kick

Name:  0501101741.jpg
Views: 71
Size:  96.3 KB
__________________
I Build EVERYTHING that i can. Check it out ------v

My build page

http://www.cherokeeforum.com/f46/6ft-cheater-bar-1-4in-ratchet-posjeepxj-43533/

Join the POS Jeep club

http://www.cherokeeforum.com/groups/p-o-s-jeep-club/

Last edited by posjeepxj; 02-27-2011 at 03:42 PM.
posjeepxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 11:23 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 83

View Soaper's Photo Album My Photos
99 Cherokee
Default

i like the above setup.
Click the image to open in full size.
this is what im running for my distro block.
then running fuseable link between the relay's
but all my relays will wire into this.
was gonna install it on my lightning but i have about 30 boxes of to be installed... since truck is getting parked for winter figured id grab this outta the pile and use it for now.
Soaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 11:23 PM
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need an FSM diagram for power distribution box TXXJ361 OEM Cherokee Tech 1 02-17-2011 11:41 AM
HELP! Power Distribution Center Diagram Thick650 OEM Cherokee Tech 0 12-15-2010 12:50 PM
Power Distribution.... darkoverlift OEM Cherokee Tech 2 11-07-2010 01:18 PM
1987 XJ Pioneer Power Distribution Layout 45shutr OEM Cherokee Tech 3 10-01-2010 12:33 AM
Swapping 89 Renix block with 98 ho block stockli OEM Cherokee Tech 9 02-25-2010 08:53 PM

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > Modified Cherokee Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 AM.


This site is in no way affiliated with Jeep or Chrysler.

Emails Backup