Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2001 XJ 3" Lift Help

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2015, 03:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Post 2001 XJ 3" Lift Help

Hey everyone this is my first time posting on here, I have researched the forums and have a pretty good understanding of what I am doing/need to do. I have a 2001 XJ with the Dana 35, I use it for my daily driver mostly but at least half of the year I spend in snow and ice. I live in the country and do some light off road work. Down the road I plan on maybe putting a plow on the front but mostly using it to rescue local cars that get stuck. I would like to put 31s on the car if possible.

On my shopping list thus far I have:
o 2.75" OME Leafs, Medium Load
o OME Bushings
o Dana 35 UBolts
o OME Shocks Heavy, not the Nitro Shocks, or the 5100 Bilsteins
o 1.75" OME Coils (is there a big difference in brands or are they all mostly equal?)

The things I am not sure about:
o To bring the front end what will I need, Just a spacer or bump stop or both?
o Will I need new brake lines? If so anything cheap ways to do so?
o Will I need sway bar disconnects, steering stabilizer, T-Case drop, control arm, or adjustable front track bar?
o I am correct in the assumption that I do not need to mess with gears?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Edit:
I just saw this which was posted the other day, https://www.cherokeeforum.com/f67/nk...-chart-211878/
That answers most of my questions, still would like to know the following:

o Does the brand of coil really matter, or is the load ratting the biggest factor?
o To bring the front end what will I need, Just a spacer or bump stop or both?
o Does anyone recommend getting a new steering stabilizer with 31s?
o I am correct in the assumption that I do not need to mess with gears?