Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

Planning a trip to OBX Saturday, advice?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2017, 05:54 PM
CF Veteran

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Year: 1990
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Planning a trip to OBX Saturday, advice?

I plan to take the wife and daughter to Carova this Saturday to do some beach driving. This is my first time off roading. I bought the XJ in April and have spent the last several months getting it sorted out. It is on 5" of lift and 33s now. I've been reading up on driving on the beach and found Steve is the resident expert on the OBX.

I plan to pack a basic toolbag, couple straps, high lift jack (with larger base), and shovel, small air compressor to reinflate. Should I pack anything else?

Etiquette - What is a good maximum speed?

Plan to drive in 4LO while on the sand, aired down to 18 PSI. Any reason to stick in 4HI?

Any advice? Spots to visit?
Old 01-20-2017, 09:18 AM
Seasoned Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1989

Originally Posted by bad_idea
I plan to take the wife and daughter to Carova this Saturday to do some beach driving. This is my first time off roading. I bought the XJ in April and have spent the last several months getting it sorted out. It is on 5" of lift and 33s now. I've been reading up on driving on the beach and found Steve is the resident expert on the OBX.

I plan to pack a basic toolbag, couple straps, high lift jack (with larger base), and shovel, small air compressor to reinflate. Should I pack anything else?

Etiquette - What is a good maximum speed?

Plan to drive in 4LO while on the sand, aired down to 18 PSI. Any reason to stick in 4HI?

Any advice? Spots to visit?
Check with the beach you intend to visit. You'll likely need a 4x4 permit for the beach and the permit will have stated requirements. In my neck of the woods some of the additional items are jack board, first aid kit, porta potty and some others I'm forgetting.