Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

Need suspension and engine advice!

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2015, 12:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Need suspension and engine advice!

I have a 2001 Cherokee Sport that i have been driving daily for just over ten years. All of the suspension is still original and at this point is barely clinging to life. My time and monetary resources are limited because I work and go to school full time. I have done simple repairs myself and have always kept up on basic maintenance, I just am not sure how to go about an overhaul or where to even start for that matter. Also, I have a serious corrosion issue with the coolant system that has been present for years. I have to flush my coolant system every few months because the antifreeze literally solidifies into a scary, red, fluffy, mud like substance. Please be gentle....I know should be ashamed for allowing my Jeep to reach such a saddened condition.
Old 08-26-2015, 02:53 PM
CF Veteran

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0

Sell it/trade it and get something else. Maybe a Camry, Accord or Civic.
Old 08-26-2015, 09:36 PM
CF Veteran

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

Air in the cooling system leads to heavy corrosion. As thorough flush and pressure test should be performed.

4WD4EVER,
How does that help the OP with his XJ? If it's an attempt at humor....don't quit your day-job.
Old 08-26-2015, 11:41 PM
CF Veteran

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

Stuff like ball joints and the unit bearings you need special tools to replace,If a shop does it you won't like the bill on that.What brand coolant do you use and is it the 50/50 ratio coolant to water?
Old 08-26-2015, 11:51 PM
CF Veteran

Originally Posted by SeriousOffroad
If it's an attempt at humor.
Nope, seems like the most logical answer to me based on OP's description of circumstances.
Old 08-27-2015, 04:35 AM
CF Veteran