Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

Looking to Buy a '98 Cherokee Classic - what should I look out for?

Old 10-26-2010, 03:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Looking to Buy a '98 Cherokee Classic - what should I look out for?

Hello everyone.....I am looking to buy a 1998 Cherokee Classic from a local used car dealer and was wondering if there is a certain set of things that I should look out for while visually inspecting and test driving the vehicle. I would say that I have extensive knowledge of cars and know what to generally look for, but are there things specific to a 1998 Cherokee that I should spend extra time looking at or be aware of?

What I know so far; one owner vehicle with only 105k on the clock. 100% stock - no modifications to engine, suspension, wheels/tires.

Thanks, in advance, for your input.
Old 10-26-2010, 03:51 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by Chopper
Hello everyone.....I am looking to buy a 1998 Cherokee Classic from a local used car dealer and was wondering if there is a certain set of things that I should look out for while visually inspecting and test driving the vehicle. I would say that I have extensive knowledge of cars and know what to generally look for, but are there things specific to a 1998 Cherokee that I should spend extra time looking at or be aware of?

What I know so far; one owner vehicle with only 105k on the clock. 100% stock - no modifications to engine, suspension, wheels/tires.

Thanks, in advance, for your input.
Be sure when driving it to test the transfer case!
Also check the rear main seal, as they tend to leak, as well as the valve cover gasket, but that's an easy fix, and then could make a way to talk down the price though!
Also not sure where you are, but in the rust belt we get underneath and make sure the floors, rockers, door bottoms, etc. all rust free!
Good luck with it!!
Old 10-26-2010, 04:54 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0 I6