Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Light Bar bad glare. any fixes?

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2015, 01:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Light Bar bad glare. any fixes?

So I'm new to the Cherokee forum all though I have owned my Cherokee for a long time and built her from stock to what she looks like today, a monster if I must say so myself. Lol but I was wondering if there was anyway to stop the terrible glare coming from a light bar on the hood? I tried adjusting it but it didn't do much, only shined the beam to high.. I even thought about painting the hood flat black or rhino lining it professionally of course. But I'd like to here any other opinions? Thanks
Old 10-10-2015, 01:58 AM
CF Veteran

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

Part of it looks like the jack is blocking light,Do you know what brand light it is and what beam the light is?
Old 10-10-2015, 11:25 AM

It's a CNC light bar and really all I know is it's 25,000 lumens so it should be shining farther than that, correct?
Old 10-10-2015, 11:35 AM
CF Veteran

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

Depends on the beam pattern.
Dual pattern or flood pattern mounted overhead brings the fail every time.

Spot or pencil beams go overhead.
Flood or driving lights out front at or just below the headlight height.
Foglights are always mounted low.
Old 10-10-2015, 03:08 PM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0L Inline 6

The position to the bar is close to the hood, so you're going to get a lot of glare.

In my setup, I have it mounted above the roof, which keeps it further from the hood. This makes the beam higher up as well.
Old 10-10-2015, 03:20 PM
CF Veteran

Engine: 4.0

Well all I can say is that all your answers above hit it right on the head, every one of them! It really looks more like a flood light than a spot or driving.

If it were me I would move the Hi-Lift to another location as well, roof rack has plenty of room to mount it out of the way.