Dual sound bars...wiring help

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2014, 12:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Dual sound bars...wiring help

So I was picking around the JY this morning, found a sound bar out of a 95 cherokee. I'm wanting to add it to my 1999 behind the B pullers for when the doors are off.

From reading another thread I understand the best way to go about this is a new head unit, small 6 channel amp. Run amp off head unit then to each speaker - front doors, rear headliner sound bar, and middle sound bar. It has currently has stock speakers in it, they are in good shape, but I haven't tested them yet, so I think I'll stick with them as long as they are good.

Can anyone recommend a reasonable (affordable) head unit and amp to run 6 speakers. No plans for a sub ever, wife and kids won't tolerate it and I'm not a huge fan myself.

I've never done any audio wiring before, so is it tough to match a head unit/amp? For me, fewest number of buttons on a HU would be best! Don't need a CD player, but an iPhone aux hookup would be nice. Am I missing anything here?

And obligatory pics. Certainly needs to be recovered. May try to find a 97+ rear dome light to replace this one with, it looks pretty dated.
Old 08-25-2014, 01:45 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1997
Engine: 4.0L

Why are you going to wire the door speakers if you are getting the sound bar for doorless? Wire the front sound bar to the wires that the front door speakers use. Did that with mine so that with doors off or on, I have full music front and rear
Old 08-25-2014, 02:05 PM

Actually after I posted I realized that I should probably just use the bar to take the place of the front door speakers. In fact I only have one front door speaker that works.

Now I need to find some material to recover this with.
Old 08-25-2014, 03:46 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1997
Engine: 4.0L

Originally Posted by TigerXJ