Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

Anyone tried a mod for fitting a JK tire carrier on an XJ?

Old 08-08-2015, 04:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Anyone tried a mod for fitting a JK tire carrier on an XJ?

Hi Everyone,

Newbie here. I've been looking all over the internet and forums to find out if it's possible (without damage or extreme mods) to fit a tire carrier from a JK (without the brake light from the picture I attached) to the back of an XJ and then just add two more heavy duty lift struts to help lift the gate. I saw a video of a guy that did something like that but he added a different type of tire carrier. My idea is to just bolt on the JK tire carrier and reinforce the panel (if needed). I'm thinking I might have to remove the rear bumper and later have one fabricated so that it has the wheel cut-out (see attached picture below) that would prevent the spare from hitting the bumper. Is this feasible and has anyone on here done it? Any ideas?
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails Anyone tried a mod for fitting a JK tire carrier on an XJ?-jk-tire-carrier.jpg  
Attached Images  

Last edited by Ilovejeep; 08-08-2015 at 09:40 PM.
Old 08-08-2015, 11:26 PM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0L Inline 6

Anything's possible, but it seems like a lot of work to put on some OEM carrier rated for OEM sized tires when you can buy an aftermarket HD tire carrier with an integrated bumper.
Old 08-08-2015, 11:39 PM
CF Veteran

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

Sounds like a waste of time and money to me,Sure you could do it with stronger lift struts but what about the hinge and the latch handling the extra weight?And i forget the years but some xjs the back hatch is fiberglass something else to think about.
Old 08-09-2015, 12:54 PM

Originally Posted by thatXJguy