Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Wiring rear wiper motor from scratch

Old 10-13-2015, 06:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Wiring rear wiper motor from scratch

Hi,
New poster here, I appreciate any help on offer and hope I can repay in kind.

I am wiring a rear wiper motor from a 1998 Grand Cherokee, the motor was purchased from Summit and is a Valeo, 6-pin unit.

Here is a picture of the connector:

Also attached is a wiring diagram I grabbed off a "justanswer" thread where a technician was attempting to help a subscriber diagnose a problem. The diagram was represented as being from a 1998 Grand Cherokee.

I am wiring this into a car with no wiring harness so I am building from scratch. I have wired a few cars before so I am no beginner, but I am no professional either.

One observation is the diagram only accounts for 5 pins. I opened up the Valeo wiper motor electronics case and all 6 pins are mounted to the PCB board so I think they are all in use, at least in certain circumstances.

I noted continuity between pin #3 and the wiper motor "ON" copper swipe in the motor connection. I also note continuity between pin #3 and both the motor drive connections (presumably one is Batt+ and the other is Batt -)

I have tried power and ground in all possible combinations across all the pins in pairs. I also tried most combinations with pin #3 grounded, to see if pin #3 was wanted a ground connection it that's how the door ajar switch works. No dice.

I honestly thought the following was going to be correct to get the wiper to turn on, at least from the diagram:

1-ground
2- Batt+
3- neither ground or open worked
4- intermittent if batt+ applied
5- Batt+

But it didn't...