Installing aftermarket radio in a 96 Grand Cherokee - Jeep Cherokee Forum
Jeep Cherokee Forum

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > Grand Cherokee Tech
Log In 
Search


Installing aftermarket radio in a 96 Grand Cherokee

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-21-2011, 08:27 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Flora Illinois
Posts: 123

View ajk2005's Photo Album My Photos
1996 Grand Cherokee
Default Installing aftermarket radio in a 96 Grand Cherokee

I'm trying to install a radio in a 96 grand cherokee..
The problem is that the radio turns on but doesn't output any sound to the speakers. I bought the wiring kit and it's wired up correctly(I've installed over 10 radios for people).
I can't even find the speakers using a continuity meter on a volt meter.
It works fine with the stock radio though.
Has anyone else had this problem?
ajk2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Cherokee Forum

Join CherokeeForum.com Today - It's Totally Free!

Do you love your Jeep? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Jeep Fans to meet online.
Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your jeep, and have a great time with other Jeep Cherokee fans.. Whether your an old timer or just bought your Jeep you'll find that CherokeeForum.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join CherokeeForum.com Today! - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


-->
Old 02-21-2011, 08:36 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 14

View dominicricci's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default

Ya know what scratch that..... buy this, wire it like normal..... boom

Amazon.com: Metra Jeep Grand Cherokee 1994-1996 Amp Bypass Turbowire Harness - Metra 706513: Electronics Amazon.com: Metra Jeep Grand Cherokee 1994-1996 Amp Bypass Turbowire Harness - Metra 706513: Electronics

Last edited by dominicricci; 02-21-2011 at 08:40 AM.
dominicricci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 08:39 AM   #3
Just That Awesome
 
nukinfuts29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hannibal, MO
Posts: 1,673

View nukinfuts29's Photo Album My Photos
1993 Grand Cherokee
Send a message via AIM to nukinfuts29
Default

Im almost positive my friends 96 had a factory amp in it. We had to locate which wire powers that amp and then wire it to the antenna power wire on the HU
nukinfuts29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 08:42 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 14

View dominicricci's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nukinfuts29 View Post
Im almost positive my friends 96 had a factory amp in it. We had to locate which wire powers that amp and then wire it to the antenna power wire on the HU
You can do that or just buy the bypass cable.... makes things much easier....

Amazon.com: Metra Jeep Grand Cherokee 1994-1996 Amp Bypass Turbowire Harness - Metra 706513: Electronics Amazon.com: Metra Jeep Grand Cherokee 1994-1996 Amp Bypass Turbowire Harness - Metra 706513: Electronics
dominicricci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 08:44 AM   #5
Just That Awesome
 
nukinfuts29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hannibal, MO
Posts: 1,673

View nukinfuts29's Photo Album My Photos
1993 Grand Cherokee
Send a message via AIM to nukinfuts29
Default

Link didn't open for me, but if you mean bypassing it as in not using the amp, that only works if you don't want to use the amp. Simply providing power with the antenna wire leaves the factory design in tact.
nukinfuts29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 08:54 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 14

View dominicricci's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default

Most HU's have an amp built into them.... but it's his call.... if he wants to run a remote wire down there the antenna trigger is green/red I think.....
dominicricci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 09:00 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Flora Illinois
Posts: 123

View ajk2005's Photo Album My Photos
1996 Grand Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicricci View Post
Most HU's have an amp built into them.... but it's his call.... if he wants to run a remote wire down there the antenna trigger is green/red I think.....
I just ordered a 1600w 4 channel amp.. I'll just run pre outs to it then run new speaker wires to the doors. That way I don't have the stock amp or anything.
Then I can finally use my 6000w 15"..

Last edited by ajk2005; 02-21-2011 at 09:04 AM.
ajk2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 09:06 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Flora Illinois
Posts: 123

View ajk2005's Photo Album My Photos
1996 Grand Cherokee
Default

Does anyone know where the amp is located?
ajk2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 09:11 AM   #9
Just That Awesome
 
nukinfuts29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hannibal, MO
Posts: 1,673

View nukinfuts29's Photo Album My Photos
1993 Grand Cherokee
Send a message via AIM to nukinfuts29
Default

Pretty sure it's under the back seat, drivers side
nukinfuts29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 09:29 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 14

View dominicricci's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nukinfuts29 View Post
Pretty sure it's under the back seat, drivers side
+1
dominicricci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 09:35 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Flora Illinois
Posts: 123

View ajk2005's Photo Album My Photos
1996 Grand Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nukinfuts29 View Post
Pretty sure it's under the back seat, drivers side
I noticed a little box there.. But my 91 Cherokee had one there also but it didn't have an amp built it.. I assumed it was for the power seats or something?.. Haha
So if i unhook all the wires going to it will it mess up anything in my jeep? I've read alot about electrical problems and don't want to mess up anything. With as much stuff as it has(power locks, windows, mirrors, self dimming rear-view mirrow, heated seats, heated mirrors, digital displays, programmable seats.. etc.).. Should i just leave it there?
ajk2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 09:42 AM   #12
Just That Awesome
 
nukinfuts29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hannibal, MO
Posts: 1,673

View nukinfuts29's Photo Album My Photos
1993 Grand Cherokee
Send a message via AIM to nukinfuts29
Default

It shouldn't affect anything but the speakers. Verify it is the amp before disconnecting it.
nukinfuts29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 09:46 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Flora Illinois
Posts: 123

View ajk2005's Photo Album My Photos
1996 Grand Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nukinfuts29 View Post
It shouldn't affect anything but the speakers. Verify it is the amp before disconnecting it.
Alright. Another question.. When I change the time on the radio it changes on the info center also.. Will removing the stock radio affect the info center?
ajk2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 09:53 AM   #14
Just That Awesome
 
nukinfuts29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hannibal, MO
Posts: 1,673

View nukinfuts29's Photo Album My Photos
1993 Grand Cherokee
Send a message via AIM to nukinfuts29
Default

No clue, mine didnt work so i reipped it out and made a switch panel
nukinfuts29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 10:27 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Flora Illinois
Posts: 123

View ajk2005's Photo Album My Photos
1996 Grand Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nukinfuts29 View Post
No clue, mine didnt work so i reipped it out and made a switch panel
My jeep had a blown fuse for the radio/info center when I got it. When I replaced the fuse the info center started smoking.. I just bought a replacement off ebay for like $18
ajk2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2004 Grand Cherokee audio problem joefromperry Grand Cherokee Tech 3 08-22-2015 10:10 PM
Grand Cherokee 2001 Warren 49 Grand Cherokee Tech 3 08-01-2015 01:14 PM
Aftermarket radio problem, HELP PLEASE! kaleblewis Grand Cherokee Tech 0 07-24-2015 10:40 PM
Xj to grand Stealheader Jeep Builds 4 07-24-2015 08:17 PM
'02 WJ: Upgrading Seats and Interior Trim? 94zj318 Grand Cherokee Tech 2 07-23-2015 09:32 AM

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > Grand Cherokee Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.


This site is in no way affiliated with Jeep or Chrysler.

Emails Backup