Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

amateur mechanic needs advice on jeep not starting

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2015, 08:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default amateur mechanic needs advice on jeep not starting

Hi, first post here, just joined so be nice. I have a 94 grand cherokee laredo, 164000 miles. I try to do whatever I can repair wise at home, since I am a teacher and cant really afford the crazy labor prices that my area shops charge. I have done basic things like brake calipers and rotors, replacing fuel filter and starter, but I am far from a certified mech. So keep that in mind if you respond, I need things in simple terms! thanks in advance.

Anyway, my jeep was running relatively well til the other day when I tried to start it in my driveway, and it was dead. had a friend who is a bit more mechanically minded then I am come by, and he told me my fuel pump was bad. So I went ahead and ordered an inexpensive one off ebay, and put it in, along with replacing the fuel filter, as I dont know when they last time it was replaced. I also replaced the fuel pump relay and checked the fuses, which all seem fine. After putting the new pump in however, it doesnt seem to be getting any power, as I dont hear anything when I have someone tun the key ( while listening at the gas door). There also isnt air or gas coming out when I check the shrader valve on the fuel rail. The relay does click when I turn the key, but otherwise the car wont start.Does anyone have any ideas what I could try next? Like I said, I am an amateur mech, so if you have any advice, keep that in mind. thanks in advance.
Old 08-25-2015, 10:56 PM
CF Veteran

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0L
Default amateur mechanic needs advice on jeep not starting

What engine do you have?
Old 08-26-2015, 04:36 AM
CF Veteran