Jeep Cherokee Forum

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > Grand Cherokee Tech
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Welcome to Cherokee Forum!
Welcome to Cherokee Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-21-2011, 03:24 AM   #1
pwb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 651

View pwb's Photo Album My Photos
1993 Grand Cherokee
Default Adjust gear shift?

When i cleaned the throttle body and replaced the sensors i think i moved this cable. Now the tranny changes nice and the idle is fine, but it seems like the tranny locks? to fast. Normaly when driving in low speed and small road if i give gas the rpm increase before the speed increase, its not in lock? but now it locks to soon (in low rpm). Is this cable controlling that?
Attached Images
 
pwb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 03:30 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Homer Glen IL
Posts: 8

View Shizzels's Photo Album My Photos
1996 Cherokee
Default

Sounds like ur trannys slipping
Shizzels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 06:09 AM   #3
pwb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 651

View pwb's Photo Album My Photos
1993 Grand Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shizzels View Post
Sounds like ur trannys slipping
Its not slipping, but i need it to unlock on lower torque. When driving on flat road in low speed i need to give much gas to get higher speed and then it kickdown insted, if i give a litle gas the rpm isnt moving, or its moving very slow since there isnt much torque on low rpm. And it happend when i released that cable from the throttle. I have tried to adjust it a litle and feel diference, but is there som guide on how to adjust it to the perfect place?
pwb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 11:49 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Homer Glen IL
Posts: 8

View Shizzels's Photo Album My Photos
1996 Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pwb View Post
Its not slipping, but i need it to unlock on lower torque. When driving on flat road in low speed i need to give much gas to get higher speed and then it kickdown insted, if i give a litle gas the rpm isnt moving, or its moving very slow since there isnt much torque on low rpm. And it happend when i released that cable from the throttle. I have tried to adjust it a litle and feel diference, but is there som guide on how to adjust it to the perfect place?
Ooo I gotcha well On the intake where it has the mount where it has 3 cables the one with the button is the one for the trans now u should be able to hit that button and u wana get it to the point where if feels tight if that dosent work check your air idle sensor on ur throttle body that's mine had a late reaction like that.
Shizzels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 12:09 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
jnicewan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 697

View jnicewan's Photo Album My Photos
95 Grand Cherokee
Default

Sorry for the long post, I hope it makes sense.
Its hard to tell what problem you have, you used the term "lock-up" that term is normally used for the torque convertor which only locks up in O/D, or 3rd if O/D is cancelled with O/D button. T/C lock up is mainly influenced by the TP sensor. If TP is out of adjustment "low" it will lock the T/C sooner/lower MPH, if its out of adjustment "high" it will lock the covertor up late/higher MPH. If the upshifts (1st-3rd) are too soon or happen too quickly then the T/V cable may need to be tightened.

There is a white clip on the T/V cable housing where it mounts to the cable bracket, that clip needs to be pried up or off, this allows the cable housing to slide in/out to adjust the slack of the cable. If there is not a white clip then you have a black plastic button that is almost square shaped that needs to be pushed in to adjust the cable.

T/V cable adjustment is pretty critical for proper trans pressures and if the cable is loose it could allow the clutches to slip. What you want is to have the T/V cable a little on the tight side. The purpose of the T/V cable is not to set shift points but this side effect is the easiest to use for proper setup. Its is better to be a little tight allowing the trans to "hold" gears a little longer during acceleration.

To adjust T/V cable, release lock clip or push button, then:

Move the cable housing back (away from throttle body) will increase T/V pressure or raise shift points, side affects can also create sensitive downshifts and harsh engagements. Too tight can also cause upshifts to occur to high in RPM range, or the feeling that its stuck in a lower gear and will not upshift. Thats when you know you went too far.


Move the cable forward (toward throttle body) will lower T/V pressure or lower shift points, side affects can be early/quick upshifts, or excessive throttle to make downshifts, slip/shuttle shifts, and slipping trans on accel. If its too loose it will seem like the transmission is shifting into higher gears too soon while you are accelerating, this is when you know its too loose.
__________________
95 ZJ 4.0L 42RE, 231, 3.5" lift 31" KM2's

"Dont let out until its too late"
jnicewan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 01:20 PM   #6
pwb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 651

View pwb's Photo Album My Photos
1993 Grand Cherokee
Default

ok, i have replaced the TPS, maybe i should put back the old one to see it thats help. I replaced IAC since it run high on idle, i replaced TPS and MAF in the same time and the idle is now fine. But maybe the new TPS is bad? is it possible to measure the TPS with a ohm meter?
I found this on youtube to adjust the TV Cable, is this ok?
pwb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 02:35 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
jnicewan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 697

View jnicewan's Photo Album My Photos
95 Grand Cherokee
Default

If you have the push button type it it will ratchet out like the video states. You can not make this style tighter because it will simply ratchet the setting back to spec at the next WOT event.

If you have the white plastic clip style cable you can set it loose or tight depending on where you set it
__________________
95 ZJ 4.0L 42RE, 231, 3.5" lift 31" KM2's

"Dont let out until its too late"
jnicewan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 06:58 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Clifton Springs NY
Posts: 10

View bigdhall's Photo Album My Photos
1999 Grand Cherokee
Default

I have a 99 GC Laredo and I'm having similar problems with mine except its a 4.7L V8 and i was wondering how to adjust the T/V cable on a 4.7L.....thanks
bigdhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 09:35 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
jnicewan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 697

View jnicewan's Photo Album My Photos
95 Grand Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdhall View Post
I have a 99 GC Laredo and I'm having similar problems with mine except its a 4.7L V8 and i was wondering how to adjust the T/V cable on a 4.7L.....thanks
You should have the 45RFE, there is not a T/V cable, all shifts are controlled electronically.
__________________
95 ZJ 4.0L 42RE, 231, 3.5" lift 31" KM2's

"Dont let out until its too late"
jnicewan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 09:35 PM
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply
Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > Grand Cherokee Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cherokee will not shift from first gear jpw1906 OEM Cherokee Tech 13 07-31-2011 12:05 PM
Cherokee Gear Shift Jayhawkfell35 OEM Cherokee Tech 2 11-16-2010 12:23 PM
adjust auto shift linkage 7urtle OEM Cherokee Tech 0 11-08-2010 02:36 PM
Gear Shift Lights RICZR2 OEM Cherokee Tech 3 12-04-2009 08:50 PM
how to adjust shift linkage?? fixitman OEM Cherokee Tech 1 03-12-2009 08:29 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site is in no way affiliated with Jeep or Chrysler.

Emails Backup