Jeep Cherokee Forum

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > Grand Cherokee Tech
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Welcome to Cherokee Forum!
Welcome to Cherokee Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-09-2012, 08:17 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 54

View JDawg965's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default 97 GC VIC display

O.k. So the other day I was working on my jeep finishing up the steering box got in to take it for a ride. All was good went home shut the jeep off for a couple minutes then turned it on. When the jeep came on the Vic display had horizontal light green lines but nothing else all other electronics worked fine. I shut it off disconnected the battery for a while and tried again and got the same thing.. I then went to take it for a Ride and the radio went off.. I replaced the fuse and it popped right away? I then replaced the fuse again and heard a pop and checked all the fuses and nothing was blown??? I started the jeep and the radio worked but the Vic was completely off no lines or anything. I checked all fuses and they are good.. I can't find any information to test or tell if it's bad or if some parts on the board can. E replaced.. Does anyone have any information on this?? Let me know thanks

97 GC 5.2 V8 Laredo
JDawg965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:55 AM   #2
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: East Texas
Posts: 454

View ET JEEP's Photo Album My Photos
1997 Grand Cherokee
Default

I have the same problem. My VIC died from one start to the next. Fuses are good so the problem may be the unit itself. From what I have read the soldered power wire tends to break the soldered joint and then not make contact. Other wires may be the same. You have to remove the VIC to check for power and the soldered joints. If that is the problem resoldering the joints will fix the problem.

I have not removed the unit yet to check this out. I am going to check this when I get some time.

Here is some info I found to get the VIC out. It will serve as a guide. I have studied how to get the VIC out. Some dismantling required. If my unit is bad I may try a junkyard for a replacement.

Remove the knee blocker/steering column cover as described in this group.
Remove the two screws that secure the top of the instrument panel center bezel to the instrument panel above the Graphic Display Module (GDM) or Vehicle Information Center (VIC)


If my unit is bad I may try a junkyard for a replacement.
Remove the ash receiver from the instrument panel center bezel.
Remove the two screws in the back of the ash receiver opening that secure the instrument panel center bezel to the instrument panel armature.
Remove the screw that secures the courtesy lamp located under the outboard end of the glove box module.
Open the passenger side front door and remove the screw that secures the outboard end of the glove box module.
Remove the four screws that secure the glove box hinge to the instrument panel armature on the lower edge of the glove box module.
Open the glove box door and remove the four screws at the top of the glove box opening that secure the upper edge of the glove box module to the instrument panel armature.
Lower the glove box module far enough to unplug the wire harness connectors from the glove box lamp and switch, the cigar lighter and lamp, and the power outlet. Also remove the ash receiver lamp bulb and socket as a unit by gently pulling it out of the ash receiver lamp hood.
Remove the glove box module from the vehicle.
Once you have that out of the way, there are simply 3 screws holding the info dispaly in place.
ET JEEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:53 AM   #3
CF Veteran
 
ol"blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tenn. and Mich.
Posts: 28,056

View ol"blue's Photo Album My Photos
2004 Grand Cherokee
Default

Here's a write up w/pics on the VIC removal and repair. >->http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f13/c...moval-1228233/
Thanks to 1998 ZJ from JEEPForum for that write up.
__________________
Dan
'04 Grand Cherokee SE: 4.7L V8 w/235 HP, 4X4
'04 Saturn Vue: 3.5L V6 w/250 HP, AWD

"...Never Use Post Count as A Knowledge Gauge." Willys55

CBW Member#97

If no answer, ask here>
www.CHEROKEETECH.com


RIP Carroll Shelby
http://www.carrollshelbyfoundation.org/
http://carrollshelbyfoundation.com/



If you're not breaking parts you're not making enough power!!!
"I NEED MORE TRACTION, NOT MORE BOOST"

ol"blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 05:25 PM   #4
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: East Texas
Posts: 454

View ET JEEP's Photo Album My Photos
1997 Grand Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ol"blue View Post
Here's a write up w/pics on the VIC removal and repair. >->http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f13/c...moval-1228233/
Thanks to 1998 ZJ from JEEPForum for that write up.

ol"blue thanks for posting this link. It certainly will help.
ET JEEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:00 PM   #5
CF Veteran
 
ol"blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tenn. and Mich.
Posts: 28,056

View ol"blue's Photo Album My Photos
2004 Grand Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ET JEEP View Post
ol"blue thanks for posting this link. It certainly will help.
Glad to be of help when/if I can. I had lost a lot of info when I had to reboot the computer, but I found that link again today. I found some things but am still searching for the rest.
Apparently the way I did the files back up onto discs wasn't correct, because even though it used 4 discs to save it, I can't access it now from those discs. There's just so much to learn with these computers.
__________________
Dan
'04 Grand Cherokee SE: 4.7L V8 w/235 HP, 4X4
'04 Saturn Vue: 3.5L V6 w/250 HP, AWD

"...Never Use Post Count as A Knowledge Gauge." Willys55

CBW Member#97

If no answer, ask here>
www.CHEROKEETECH.com


RIP Carroll Shelby
http://www.carrollshelbyfoundation.org/
http://carrollshelbyfoundation.com/



If you're not breaking parts you're not making enough power!!!
"I NEED MORE TRACTION, NOT MORE BOOST"

ol"blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:36 PM   #6
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: East Texas
Posts: 454

View ET JEEP's Photo Album My Photos
1997 Grand Cherokee
Default

I know what you mean about computers. I just fixed a problem that I have been dealing with the past few days. Yes, there is just too much to learn about computers. We will never learn all there is to learn about computers.

I changed from storing on discs to storing on flashdrives. Much easier and you work them like the Documents Folder. Add folders, store pictures, change names, move around, delete, copy, etc. You should get one and give it a try.
ET JEEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:43 PM   #7
CF Veteran
 
ol"blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tenn. and Mich.
Posts: 28,056

View ol"blue's Photo Album My Photos
2004 Grand Cherokee
Default

Thanks for that tip, I'll check into it.
__________________
Dan
'04 Grand Cherokee SE: 4.7L V8 w/235 HP, 4X4
'04 Saturn Vue: 3.5L V6 w/250 HP, AWD

"...Never Use Post Count as A Knowledge Gauge." Willys55

CBW Member#97

If no answer, ask here>
www.CHEROKEETECH.com


RIP Carroll Shelby
http://www.carrollshelbyfoundation.org/
http://carrollshelbyfoundation.com/



If you're not breaking parts you're not making enough power!!!
"I NEED MORE TRACTION, NOT MORE BOOST"

ol"blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 08:45 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 54

View JDawg965's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default

Thanks for all the help, I will probably start on it
Later today or this week I will take pictures and see how goes
JDawg965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 10:47 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 54

View JDawg965's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default

Ok so I took the VIC out and all the soldering and
Everything looks good but here may be the problem take a look at the picture... I also tested the wire harness and it is getting power so maybe it just went bad? You be the judge thanks
Attached Thumbnails
97 GC VIC display-image-2684326274.jpg  
JDawg965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 10:47 AM
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > Grand Cherokee Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.


This site is in no way affiliated with Jeep or Chrysler.

Emails Backup