Jeep Cherokee Forum

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > Grand Cherokee Tech
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Welcome to Cherokee Forum!
Welcome to Cherokee Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-31-2011, 12:07 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 33

View matt_101's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default 1998 Grand Cherokee Suddenly won't shift

Hey guys,


I'm having a problem wiuth my 98 grand cherokee lardedo.... it's always shifted a little funny, i adjusted the kick down cable a few months ago its shifted much better since that.

I parked it last night and when i came out this morning and pulled out of the driveway, it wouldn't shift out of first gear. I've read that the TCU could be the problem, does the 98 grand have a TCU? i thought everything was done in the PCM (powertrain control module). There is a new PCM in jeep.

I checked the fluid, it looked low - so i topped it up.... but it still won't shift out of first. I'm stumped because it shfited okay last night when i parked it lol.... werid.


Where should i start looking? My kickdown cable has already been adjusted.


what do you guys think?

-TCM, how do i check this/where is it loacted on a 98 grand?
-TPS
- Transmission itself
-What else should i check?

Help very much apperciated!
matt_101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 02:33 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 33

View matt_101's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default

I just checked the codes and this is what i got:


P0720 Output Speed Sensor Circuit Malfunction



Where is the speed sensor on this vechile?
matt_101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 04:57 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 33

View matt_101's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default

I'll replace the speed sensor and update if that fixes my problem.



Anyone care to chime in here?
matt_101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 04:09 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 33

View matt_101's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default

So apparantly there are 2 speed sensors on this vechile...... could somebody PLEASE tell me which one is the output sensor and witch is the input?
matt_101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 05:19 PM   #5
Newbie
 
TonyZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Meade Co. KY
Posts: 29

View TonyZJ's Photo Album My Photos
97 Grand Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt_101
So apparantly there are 2 speed sensors on this vechile...... could somebody PLEASE tell me which one is the output sensor and witch is the input?
The output speed sensor in located on the left side(drivers side)at the rear of the tranmission. The input speed sensor is located in the front of the transmiison on the left side as well, and yes both speed senors are interchangable. This information is for a 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo with the 4.0 (6 cyl). The speed sensor costs around $26.00 at auto zone. The senor screws in and out, just make sure you have a catch pan to catch the transmission fuild that will come out.

And do yer self a favor and DON'T reuse the the fuild that came out of the transmission!!! Transmission oil is cheap compared to repairing a transmission.

Hope this helps someone out.....

Got this from Google
TonyZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 04:50 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 33

View matt_101's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default

I ordered the sensor today...... hopefully i got the right one. I never pulled the old one out yet as i couldnt find a diagram......

Can anyone show me a picture of what this sensor looks like so i can see if i orded the correct one?

This is what the one i ordered looks like:

http://cgi.ebay.ca/SC105-Speed-Senso...DLVI%26ps%3D63
matt_101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 05:03 PM   #7
CF Veteran
 
ol"blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tenn. and Mich.
Posts: 28,056

View ol"blue's Photo Album My Photos
2004 Grand Cherokee
Default

You have a vehicle speed sensor and a transmission output speed sensor. The attached pics might help you with the transmission speed sensor.


__________________
Dan
'04 Grand Cherokee SE: 4.7L V8 w/235 HP, 4X4
'04 Saturn Vue: 3.5L V6 w/250 HP, AWD

"...Never Use Post Count as A Knowledge Gauge." Willys55

CBW Member#97

If no answer, ask here>
www.CHEROKEETECH.com


RIP Carroll Shelby
http://www.carrollshelbyfoundation.org/
http://carrollshelbyfoundation.com/



If you're not breaking parts you're not making enough power!!!
"I NEED MORE TRACTION, NOT MORE BOOST"

ol"blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 05:08 PM   #8
CF Veteran
 
OverlandZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bristol,Pa
Posts: 4,888

View OverlandZJ's Photo Album My Photos
94 Cherokee
Default

ol'blue beat me to it.. but i'll add this anyway. Different diagram.

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f310/...ensors-287793/
OverlandZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 09:20 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 33

View matt_101's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverlandXJ View Post
ol'blue beat me to it.. but i'll add this anyway. Different diagram.

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f310/...ensors-287793/

The sensor i bought looks like the one pictured in that theard... ie: you slide it in and a bolt holts it in place......

but the diagram from old blue shows a different sensor that appears to be threded itsself.

lol...... guess we'll find out tomrrow, i had the part overnighted.
matt_101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 06:13 PM   #10
Cherokee Forum Vendor
 
ct67_72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: meriden Ct
Posts: 1,967

View ct67_72's Photo Album My Photos
2000 Cherokee
Default

make sure your looking at the back of your tranny and not your transfer case. it may have a different sensor back there also.
__________________
2000 xj, 4" lift, D60. 5.13's, welded, 3 link. D70, detroit, discs. stretched, Trail Ready bead locks. 39" Red labels. klune 4:1 V-drive/D20
BUILD THREAD http://www.cherokeeforum.com/f46/xj-...-86755/index5/

NITRO GEAR, EATON, ARB, EATON, RCV, PSC, RUFFSTUFF, ARTEC TJM, OME, YUKON, USA STANDARD AND MORE!
http://www.facebook.com/Dmrtransmission


WWW.DMROFFROAD.COM
ct67_72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 03:41 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
jnicewan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 697

View jnicewan's Photo Album My Photos
95 Grand Cherokee
Default

The sensor you need is threaded, it screws into the trans in the O/D unit housing. its a couple inches behind the pan and on the drivers side, pointing slightly downward.
Click the image to open in full size.

Here is a pic of the sensor you need.
Click the image to open in full size.


Here is a pic of the one you do not need, I included this one just for reference. This sensor is on the back of the transfer case and its primary functions are: speedometer, speed control.

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
95 ZJ 4.0L 42RE, 231, 3.5" lift 31" KM2's

"Dont let out until its too late"
jnicewan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 01:45 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 33

View matt_101's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnicewan View Post
The sensor you need is threaded, it screws into the trans in the O/D unit housing. its a couple inches behind the pan and on the drivers side, pointing slightly downward.
Click the image to open in full size.

Here is a pic of the sensor you need.
Click the image to open in full size.


Here is a pic of the one you do not need, I included this one just for reference. This sensor is on the back of the transfer case and its primary functions are: speedometer, speed control.

Click the image to open in full size.

CRAP!

guess i'm stuck with a sensor i dont need then..... special order item.


What is the name/part number of the one i need? I asked for an output speed sensor and the guy at the parts store ordered the one that i don't need......
matt_101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 05:43 PM   #13
Cherokee Forum Vendor
 
ct67_72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: meriden Ct
Posts: 1,967

View ct67_72's Photo Album My Photos
2000 Cherokee
Default

the only place I have found the correct one other than my trans parts supplier is autozone
__________________
2000 xj, 4" lift, D60. 5.13's, welded, 3 link. D70, detroit, discs. stretched, Trail Ready bead locks. 39" Red labels. klune 4:1 V-drive/D20
BUILD THREAD http://www.cherokeeforum.com/f46/xj-...-86755/index5/

NITRO GEAR, EATON, ARB, EATON, RCV, PSC, RUFFSTUFF, ARTEC TJM, OME, YUKON, USA STANDARD AND MORE!
http://www.facebook.com/Dmrtransmission


WWW.DMROFFROAD.COM
ct67_72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 01:17 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
jnicewan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 697

View jnicewan's Photo Album My Photos
95 Grand Cherokee
Default

It is the output shaft speed sensor. Not vehicle speed but output shaft speed.
The wrong sensor, which they ordered for you does not even go on the transmission
Chrysler also calls the vehicle speed sensor something like "distance" sensor but the confusion should have been eliminated with using "output" vs "vehicle" speed sensor.
I think aftermarket might call them "transmission speed sensors" its still not "vehicle speed"

I can be kind of an *** about stuff like this, but I would tell the parts guy to take it back one way or the other. He is the one that ordered the wrong part. They can take it back, they just dont want to. You could always keep it around for a spare though I guess.

I dont know if this link will work, but I looked up the correct part at O-reilly's. You can have your parts guy try to get this part number or see if he can cross it over too.

Dorman Part # 917-602

http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/de...n+speed+sensor
__________________
95 ZJ 4.0L 42RE, 231, 3.5" lift 31" KM2's

"Dont let out until its too late"
jnicewan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 05:29 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 33

View matt_101's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default

I picked up the correct one from the dealer, the jeep shifts like a new vechile now. Thanks guys. (especialy old blue )


- now to try and return the one i don't need. My parts guy is usually pretty good..... hopefully it wont be too much of hassel getting him to take it back.
matt_101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 05:29 PM
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply
Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > Grand Cherokee Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
99 Grand cherokee 4.0 Wont shift into OD KKortier13 Grand Cherokee Tech 3 10-27-2010 11:57 PM
1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee $69,990! GreenClassic Cherokee Chat 15 06-28-2010 10:19 AM
1998 Grand Cherokee Laredo dude in an xj For sale 14 04-12-2010 03:16 PM
05 Jeep Grand Cherokee won't shift at all PopaPork OEM Cherokee Tech 5 12-17-2009 09:34 AM
1998 grand cherokee 5.9L limiter 5.9beast Grand Cherokee Tech 7 06-28-2009 09:44 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site is in no way affiliated with Jeep or Chrysler.

Emails Backup