Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to the "Jeep Thing"

Old 09-06-2010, 07:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default New to the "Jeep Thing"

So, I'm new to the whole "Jeep Thing," not new to mechanics, just the "Jeep thing." I have a 99 XJ classic with automatic, right now it's pretty much stock, save for the truck bed liner I sprayed onto the lower doors after clearing up the rust problem I had on the drivers door... and the seat covers I was allowed to purchase because of the stain that mysteriously appeared on the wife's $60 hoodie... So if things keep going this way I may end up driving a bunch of really rough roads to get the wife to allow me a new suspension... and flatten a tire for a new set... Seriously though cash is king and the king doesn't allow me to do everything I want to... only the necessities, which are looking like a new steering stabilizer, and maybe bushings, and a set of 235/75/15s... from what I've seen they're the largest I can put on without a lift or cutting fenders, so that's what I'll be putting on.

This is the Jeep before I did anything to it...

This is her all taped up and sprayed with the bedliner after I fixed up her cancer and sprayed the bed liner

And finally a finished product.... Looks good, I'm happy with it and the wife likes it a lot better than the rust.

And a little closer shot of the paint...

This was completed about a week or two after I got her... Easiest thing I've done to a vehicle... had to bondo a few pin holes, and it was my first time ever using the stuff... so it didn't come out too neat, I didn't worry too much about getting it sanded perfectly, as I knew I wasn't going to be repainting it blue, and the bedliner would cover it up. But anyhow like I said the wife and I are both happy with it.