Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My Search & Rescue XJ Build.

Old 01-29-2011, 10:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 95
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 HO
Default My Search & Rescue XJ Build.

Hello!
My name is Rich. Thank you for checking out my SAR XJ build. I'll start at the beginning. I am a painting contractor in Olympia, Washington. I have always loved the outdoors, Hunting, Fishing you name it. My hunting partner had an 88 xj and I loved hitting the trail come hunting season because I knew that meant Wheeling to and from where ever we hunted. So I was hooked! My hunting partner told me he knew of a new Search And Rescue unit starting up and the first meeting was tonight. He asked me if I would be interested in joining. We went to the meeting and I was a new member of South Puget Sound Mobile Search And Rescue.
I thought SAR would be a great way to give back to our community and at the same time, enjoy the outdoors, my jeep and be able to help someone who may be in trouble. Putting my XJ to use for a great cause.

I bought a 95 Cherokee SE bone stock as my search and rescue/ hunting rig in 2004.

I then lifted it in 05. We installed a Rough Country 4.5" lift with full leaf packs.

And now here it sits looking really funny . and this little girl did all the work.

This is my hunting partner and great friend Jason and his daughter (our little helper)!
So now its off to Discount Tires to get some wheels and tires. I went with 32x11.5 BFG A/T and MB Motoring wheels.

Then some DIAMOND PLATE!

Please keep in mind I dont have a bender or any fancy fabrication tools. Just my two hands and the wet noodle between my ears. Lol