Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My First Build - A 2000 XJ

Old 04-07-2013, 07:09 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Default My First Build - A 2000 XJ

Hi, this is my first post and also the start of my build thread! I've been on the forum for a while, but I just haven't gotten around to starting this yet. I'm starting to get ready for some actual mods on my XJ, so I figured it was about time. I'll go through my plans for the build a little later though. I'm 16, and this is my first car and I'm sure I'll be learning the whole way. I am an amateur photographer as well, so you can expect pics of just about everything I do with the Jeep!

To start off, I'll catch you up on what I'm working with and what I've done so far.
In 2011 my parents gave me the greatest Christmas present I could ask for: a black 2000 Jeep Cherokee!

I was only 15 at the time, so I had a good 8 months to wait before I could drive it. I really wish I would have spent this time getting to know the car better and to get a good base knowledge, but I didn't.

In the meantime, I drove around with my permit and what not. The car started running a little rough in February, so my dad and I started on some routine maintenance. Some new spark plugs seemed to fix the problem. I also fixed some minor things, like the hood not latching all the way.
Anyway, 8 months passed and I finally got my license. Here's me going for my first drive

It turns out relationships are time consuming and cost a lot of money, so when I lost the girl, I had more time and cash for the jeep! I also got a job, so I've started saving for a lift kit, wheels, and tires to be put on this summer. I plan on going with a 3.5 inch Rubicon Express lift kit (with full leaf packs of course) and 31 inch BFG All Terrain KO's for the tires. I'm not sure about wheels yet.