Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cherokee Rebuild!

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2009, 01:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Cherokee Rebuild!

So on Feb 26th i bought this jeep, and a week later this happens. the shop i toke it to says that my axle is bent. i'm new to this but these axes bend from this???

also can i get this lower control arm welded back on? or do i need a new assembly?

the sway bar is obviously broken and spring bent. the from and body wasn't harmed besides for the obvious. need some opinions.
Old 03-10-2009, 01:32 AM

Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0

I'm guessing, by the pictures, the tire and wheel are what took the brunt of the impact. Which would explain ripping the lower control arm mount off the frame (oops, it's off the axle), and when that happened, the tire was forced into the fender damaging it. If that is what happened, then yes that could be enough to bend the axle. That sucks. If I were in your shoes, I would look at replacing both lower control arms with a long arm kit. It's not cheap, but you've already got one bracket off, and I also wouldn't be surprised if you had to replace that control arm on that side anyway, possibly even both upper and lower. Considering how everything is shifted to the driver's side, the other side may be in bad shape as well. Definitely needs a good going over to see what is salvageable and what is junk now. Just my $.02.

Last edited by knobturner75; 03-10-2009 at 11:35 AM.
Old 03-10-2009, 08:59 AM

Originally Posted by knobturner75