Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

$500 Jeep Project

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2017, 01:41 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1990
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 Inline 6
Default $500 Jeep Project

I finally have a Cherokee and it is most definitely a project.
1990 4.0 Auto 4D 4WD

List of known problems:

Cooling system issue. Thinking thermostat because the coolant was boiling and the thermostat read around 210.
Oil is everywhere. All over the engine bay and oil on the underside. Thinking valve cover and rear main seals need to be replaced.
Handbrake doesn't work.
Rig is super slow and hard to move. Have to rev to 3k just to start moving. Handbrake stuck on? Hopefully not a bad trans.

Interior is nice and comfy though

This is my first project so I would greatly appreciate any advice on fixing these issues! Pics coming soon!
Old 03-20-2017, 09:25 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 98
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: 4.0L

when it has to get to 3k to move, does it just feel like the tranny isnt 'grabbing' until that high, or its struggling against something? does it do it in all gears (ie reverse?)

is the coolant straight water? 210 is about the temp these run around which would account for boiling water, if its straight water.

i know the feeling of picking up a project for a bit of cash!
Old 03-20-2017, 09:54 PM

It feels more like its struggling against something I think. Tried reverse and drive, had to rev high in both.

The coolant was only water when I test drove it, I already bought a thermostat and gasket so I might as well just replace it anyway

Took some pics this morning

Old 03-21-2017, 12:19 PM

Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0 I6