Southeast Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Florida

Red Glow Reflecting onto the Engine

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2017, 10:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Unhappy Red Glow Reflecting onto the Engine

I am new to this site and not mechanically inclined. I apologize in advance if I use the wrong terms from time to time. I have a 1992 Jeep Cherokee Laredo with 170k miles, 4.0 I6. Last Friday 01/27/17 it suddenly lost engine power and I barely got it home. Long story short, hopefully. I started reading this site to figure out what was happening. Seemed to have good fuel flow and learned from this site how to test all the sensors. Everything test fine. I am a computer repair tech so I had an oscilloscope and other things on hand. Eventually I decided to just start replacing things. Here is a list:

IAC, TPS (MAF), spark plugs and wires, coil, entire distributor including cap and rotor, fuel line I found had a pinhole leak, fuel filter, any vacuum lines that were cracked or brittle, coolant temperature sensor.

I am replacing the MAP sensor today as it won't start at all with it connected.
Eventually got a fuel pressure gauge and found only 7 psi at fuel rail. So I replaced the fuel pump yesterday.

Jeep is hard to start but it runs fantastic after a few seconds. But when I shut it off for more than a few seconds it is really hard to start again. I can hear the gas rushing back out of the fuel line when I turn it off. I can also hear the pump prime when I put the key forward. Don't know what is causing it.