Wiper Motor Pulse Board Module - Jeep Cherokee Forum
Jeep Cherokee Forum


Wiper Motor Pulse Board Module

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-29-2012, 08:42 PM   #1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
kissthis66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Marshall, WI
Posts: 720

View kissthis66's Photo Album My Photos
Default Wiper Motor Pulse Board Module

Where is this thing located on a 94 Jeep Cherokee XJ 4x4? I've checked the kick panel on the driver side, not there. Check under the steering column, from what i can tell not there....where else might this be?
kissthis66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:53 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 28

View Tiller658's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Do your wiper blades only run at one speed? That's how mine is. Same model and year, 4x2
Tiller658 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 07:43 AM   #3
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
kissthis66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Marshall, WI
Posts: 720

View kissthis66's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiller658
Do your wiper blades only run at one speed? That's how mine is. Same model and year, 4x2
Ya only works on high and low. Delay doesn't work. Found a great thread on how to fix it just can't seem to locate the delay module.
kissthis66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:16 AM   #4
Member
 
residentg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 186

View residentg's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I have a 95. It is a black plastic "box", similar in size to a pack of cigarettes, velcro'ed to to lower dash piece. It says "wiper delay" on it.
residentg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 01:34 PM   #5
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
kissthis66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Marshall, WI
Posts: 720

View kissthis66's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I finally found the sucker. Literally just reached up under the drivers side lower dash and there it was just like you said, velcro'ed. Easiest thing to remove ever haha. Wish all fixes were that simple! Thanks
kissthis66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 10:54 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 28

View Tiller658's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kissthis66 View Post
Ya only works on high and low. Delay doesn't work. Found a great thread on how to fix it just can't seem to locate the delay module.
Could you link me to the thread?
Tiller658 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 02:18 AM   #7
CF Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 5,296

View Radi's Photo Album My Photos
Default

What you are probably going to find is a burned trace on the PC board. Open the module up, remove the board and look at the backside where the traces are. If you see one that has burned open, bridge the gap with some solder, or if it's too large a gap, a short chunk of wire soldered in place.
It is also good practice to re-flow the solder on the input and output pins as long as it's out. (heat them up with the iron, add just a touch of new solder so they flow)
Radi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 10:31 AM   #8
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
kissthis66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Marshall, WI
Posts: 720

View kissthis66's Photo Album My Photos
Default

( http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f13/i...roject-279739/ )

Mine didn't have any Burnt out spots on the back. Found one at the local pull-a-part from a 96 and now it works!!
kissthis66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 12:35 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
PatDig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Belmont, NC
Posts: 32

View PatDig's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Lucky, I've been through 3-4 of those from Pull A Part and none of them have solved the intermittent issue, I also installed new linkage joints and that part works great now.. Were $5 bucks in the help section.
PatDig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 05:14 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
NittanyXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Warren PA
Posts: 73

View NittanyXJ's Photo Album My Photos
Default

sorry need to bring this one back from the dead.
After my origonal motor finally gave up I went and dumped the $90 at advance to get a reman one. This one worked fine for about a month then one day it quit. The solenoid on the motor still clicked but the wiper would not move. So I went and swapped it out for a new one and installed it, this one worked for about a day then started acting up. It would work for a little while then quit. then it would go really slow and get stuck randomly. So I went and got that one replaced. I haven't installed the newest one yet because I wanted to look into this pulse board thing. Could these problems be pulse board related? and where is the thing on a 1999 XJ? it isn't in the spot that it is on the pre 1997.
NittanyXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 12:02 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
NittanyXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Warren PA
Posts: 73

View NittanyXJ's Photo Album My Photos
Default

bump
NittanyXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 04:25 AM   #12
CF Veteran
 
freegdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Broward County Fl.
Posts: 46,276

View freegdr's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Its possible install the newer motor remove the wiper control module .Take the plugs from it plug them together see if motor works for a while . This will give you just regular wipers just so you no ,there will be no delay setting .
freegdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 07:31 AM   #13
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
kissthis66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Marshall, WI
Posts: 720

View kissthis66's Photo Album My Photos
Default

My guess it has it has something to do with the pulse. You may also want to look into possible relay/fuse issue??? Not sure if the 97 have a relay/fuse for the wiper motor but wouldn't hurt to look and possibly replace seeing how it would be an easy cheap fix. Other than that I would try the idea posted above about removing the mod and seeing if that fixes the issue. Best of luck to ya.
kissthis66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 08:55 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
NittanyXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Warren PA
Posts: 73

View NittanyXJ's Photo Album My Photos
Default

The only thing about that is that the 1997 and up dont have a constant wipe setting. Its either intermittent or push and hold to spray and wipe its on a 2 position switch.
NittanyXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 09:00 AM   #15
CF Veteran
 
freegdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Broward County Fl.
Posts: 46,276

View freegdr's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NittanyXJ View Post
The only thing about that is that the 1997 and up dont have a constant wipe setting. Its either intermittent or push and hold to spray and wipe its on a 2 position switch.
What all wipers have constant on setting ...
freegdr is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
98' XJ 4.0 carb conversion nrwphoto Modified Cherokee Tech 18 02-06-2017 10:50 AM
Electrical mess Andrew20jackson OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here! 9 09-16-2015 12:27 AM
Body Control Module Replacement HappyTrails Grand Cherokee Tech 6 09-14-2015 09:54 PM
Electrical mess:sick: Andrew20jackson OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here! 1 09-14-2015 06:28 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.