Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Slow Start / Hesitation

Old 08-27-2008, 05:06 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1991 Laredo
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L H.O.
Default Slow Start / Hesitation

Okay, so I'm still new to jeeps but I'm trying to figure this out. I have a nasty slow start which seems to kind of go away if I turn the key to on a few times and let it prime the injectors or whatever it's doing. Also, i'm getting a hesitation when I try to take off on the gas. When I first picked the jeep up a month or so ago, It was hardly idling, but I plugged the vaccume line to the EGR and it smoothed it out 100%. I dont know if this matters or not. I see someone has messed with the vaccume lines before. It's an 89 pioneer so I'm guessing that it has the renix system. Anyone got any ideas where to start? TPS or something like that?

Thanks a bunch
Old 08-27-2008, 05:20 PM

Location: tan house white shutters key's under the flower pot
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0

if priming the fuel system with the key helps then you need to go there first. check for leaky pressure regulator, or pump on the way out. might want to replace the fuel filter first.
Old 08-27-2008, 05:24 PM
::CF Administrator::

Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts
Year: 1991
Engine: 4.0 I6

My guess is fuel pump...similar syptoms as mine...Mine is slowly getting worse and I know the pump is on its way out...I plan on replacing the whole assembly, sending unit, pump and so forth...May even replace the gas tank as well..I think it's leaking..
Old 08-27-2008, 05:25 PM
Renix Super Guru

Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts
Year: 1990XJ/1989MJ
Model: Comanche
Engine: 4.0L Renix