which sensor keeps your car from starting? - Jeep Cherokee Forum
Jeep Cherokee Forum

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > OEM Cherokee Tech
Log In 
Search


which sensor keeps your car from starting?

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-19-2010, 04:19 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: McCall,Idaho
Posts: 539

View goblinish15's Photo Album My Photos
1991 Cherokee
Question which sensor keeps your car from starting?

WHAT HAPPENED? I was going 35. I pressed on the gas. No raise of rpms. I got a backfire. it kept idling so i slowly made my way to the side of the road. I immediately shut it off. And then tried restarting it, and now it just cranks and cranks. and no fire

MY TIMING WORKS. i have spark (bright blue snap) i Have fuel pressure, I have Fuel. i have compression. The pump buzzes and primes. When i get it timed right like 1 cylinder will fire. Then it will stop and keep cranking. I once got all the cylinders to fire and it didnt stay running.

THINGS IVE REPLACED: the crankshaft sensor, the distributor, the distributor cap, The spark plugs, the coil, my alternator, the cam shaft sensor, and i cleaned out my throttle body.

THINGS I NEED TO KNOW. What sensor keeps a car from starting? How do i check the injector pulse? And what could cause this?
goblinish15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Cherokee Forum

Join CherokeeForum.com Today - It's Totally Free!

Do you love your Jeep? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Jeep Fans to meet online.
Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your jeep, and have a great time with other Jeep Cherokee fans.. Whether your an old timer or just bought your Jeep you'll find that CherokeeForum.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join CherokeeForum.com Today! - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


-->
Old 12-19-2010, 04:40 PM   #2
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 475

View ezab's Photo Album My Photos
1998 Cherokee
Default

Didn't you already say your computer was bad?
ezab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 04:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: McCall,Idaho
Posts: 539

View goblinish15's Photo Album My Photos
1991 Cherokee
Question

uhmmmmm no my car got in a giant puddle stayed running and i fried the voltage regulator so now i have one externally wired in. Before my car shut off i was going through puddles feet deep .......do u think my computer took a crap?
goblinish15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 04:51 PM   #4
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 475

View ezab's Photo Album My Photos
1998 Cherokee
Default

If you have fuel, spark and compression it will start. Ignition Switch and ASD Relay. You might as well change the MAP Sensor I think you missed that one last time. Have you checked your fuses? Is there gas in your tank?
ezab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 04:54 PM   #5
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 475

View ezab's Photo Album My Photos
1998 Cherokee
Default

Almost forgot Knock Sensor and Coolant Temperature Sensor.
ezab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 04:56 PM   #6
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 475

View ezab's Photo Album My Photos
1998 Cherokee
Default

Click the image to open in full size.
ezab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 05:03 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: McCall,Idaho
Posts: 539

View goblinish15's Photo Album My Photos
1991 Cherokee
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezab View Post
If you have fuel, spark and compression it will start. Ignition Switch and ASD Relay. You might as well change the MAP Sensor I think you missed that one last time. Have you checked your fuses? Is there gas in your tank?

i swapped the asd. the ignition switch has been replaced i have quarter tank..........the map is fine.....sooooo my guess is bad ecu. is thee ecu easy to swap?
goblinish15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 07:34 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: McCall,Idaho
Posts: 539

View goblinish15's Photo Album My Photos
1991 Cherokee
Question

just got a new map sensor, IAC, tps, and computer hopefully it will work now!!!!!!!!wish me luck!
goblinish15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 07:42 PM   #9
CF Veteran
 
freegdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Happyville...
Posts: 32,963

View freegdr's Photo Album My Photos
1989 xj sport 2dr Cherokee
Default

if you get a new motor im sure it will start
__________________
Its all in your altitude,horn broke watch for finger
When asking for help here and not listening to test procedures, why ask?
freegdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 07:43 PM   #10
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 475

View ezab's Photo Album My Photos
1998 Cherokee
Default

If you had somebody working on it who knew what they were doing I am sure it would start.

Edit: You never answered when I asked what Compressed Valves were.
ezab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 07:49 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: McCall,Idaho
Posts: 539

View goblinish15's Photo Album My Photos
1991 Cherokee
Question

it kinda started just fired on a couple cylinders
goblinish15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 07:50 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: McCall,Idaho
Posts: 539

View goblinish15's Photo Album My Photos
1991 Cherokee
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by freegdr View Post
if you get a new motor im sure it will start

hahahah its on my christmas list!!!
goblinish15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 07:51 PM   #13
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 475

View ezab's Photo Album My Photos
1998 Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goblinish15 View Post
hahahah its on my christmas list!!!
What are compressed valves?
ezab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 08:09 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: McCall,Idaho
Posts: 539

View goblinish15's Photo Album My Photos
1991 Cherokee
Default

idk the guy i bought it from said it has something like that i have no clue like shaved heads or pistons or something....no clue!
goblinish15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 08:22 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: McCall,Idaho
Posts: 539

View goblinish15's Photo Album My Photos
1991 Cherokee
Question

i will grab a new ballast resistor tommorow!
goblinish15 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas smell in cab gvnc OEM Cherokee Tech 19 Yesterday 07:15 AM
Cant figure out why 96 cherokee has intermitent starting issues. NEED HELP tmillz1293 OEM Cherokee Tech 6 08-24-2015 01:13 AM
04 Grand Cherokee won't start RagTop69 Grand Cherokee Tech 2 08-04-2015 05:26 AM
1998 Cherokee XJ Mild Build mitchellsk Jeep Builds 0 08-01-2015 10:21 PM
To keep or to sell? '93 XJ ecgleaton OEM Cherokee Tech 17 07-27-2015 09:54 PM

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > OEM Cherokee Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.


This site is in no way affiliated with Jeep or Chrysler.

Emails Backup