rocker arm question - Jeep Cherokee Forum
Jeep Cherokee Forum


rocker arm question

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-19-2011, 10:08 PM   #1
Seasoned Member
Thread Starter
 
chefeagles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ny (not the city)
Posts: 459

View chefeagles's Photo Album My Photos
Default rocker arm question

put the head back on my donor engine and put the rods and rocker arms and all that back on.

After I touqred everything I checked the movement of the arm with my hand and i noticed some off them move and some are soild.

Is this because the position of the pistons and everything or is something wrong?
chefeagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 10:10 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 42

View williey00's Photo Album My Photos
Default

sounds like it,i just overhauled mine i just tourqued but didnt check for play,works fine
williey00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 10:17 PM   #3
CF Veteran
 
Gorillaxj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,967

View Gorillaxj's Photo Album My Photos
Default

it has to do with the cam position. with the lobe up it will open the valve (put pressure on the rocker) with the lobe down or in "relaxed state" it will release pressure and allow the valve to fully close and not hold tension on the rocker arm. if you torqued them all and the Timing gears are on then spin it over and make sure they all move.

sounds normal to me.
Gorillaxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 10:18 PM   #4
CF Veteran
 
freegdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Broward County Fl.
Posts: 46,276

View freegdr's Photo Album My Photos
Default

lifters have to pump back up with oil also you will be good
freegdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 10:19 PM   #5
Seasoned Member
Thread Starter
 
chefeagles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ny (not the city)
Posts: 459

View chefeagles's Photo Album My Photos
Default

i didnt check before i took it apart. once everything was apart it all looked good. I did install new lifters but thats cause i rolled the engine on the stand before i took them out and they all fell out.

I mean theres really no way to put that stuff on wrong, i dont think.
chefeagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 10:21 PM   #6
CF Veteran
 
djb383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The Republic of TEXAS
Posts: 8,151

View djb383's Photo Album My Photos
Default

It's the position of the cam shaft lobes....some are opening the valves (more pressure on the rocker arms), some are allowing valves to close (less pressure.
djb383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 10:23 PM   #7
Seasoned Member
Thread Starter
 
chefeagles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ny (not the city)
Posts: 459

View chefeagles's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorillaxj View Post
it has to do with the cam position. with the lobe up it will open the valve (put pressure on the rocker) with the lobe down or in "relaxed state" it will release pressure and allow the valve to fully close and not hold tension on the rocker arm. if you torqued them all and the Timing gears are on then spin it over and make sure they all move.

sounds normal to me.
yea its all torqued and timing gears r on. I gotta wait a week to work on it again so ill have to double check then. my buddy whos house my engine is at said something about valve adjustments but I didnt think they r adjustable, is that right?
chefeagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 10:23 PM   #8
Seasoned Member
Thread Starter
 
chefeagles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ny (not the city)
Posts: 459

View chefeagles's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djb383 View Post
It's the position of the cam shaft lobes....some are opening the valves (more pressure on the rocker arms), some are allowing valves to close (less pressure.

thats what i was hoping for. thanks.
chefeagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 10:27 PM   #9
CF Veteran
 
djb383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The Republic of TEXAS
Posts: 8,151

View djb383's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I think rocker arm bridge torque is 21 ft lbs (not positive)......that's the adjustment.
djb383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 10:39 PM   #10
Seasoned Member
Thread Starter
 
chefeagles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ny (not the city)
Posts: 459

View chefeagles's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djb383 View Post
I think rocker arm bridge torque is 21 ft lbs (not positive)......that's the adjustment.

right on. 19 for the record .
chefeagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 10:41 PM   #11
Seasoned Member
Thread Starter
 
chefeagles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ny (not the city)
Posts: 459

View chefeagles's Photo Album My Photos
Default

i didnt use anit seize or thread lock i just brushed off the bolts and put them back dry. was that the right thing to do?
chefeagles is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Current XJ long arm options peligro113 Modified Cherokee Tech 43 07-22-2016 10:34 AM
Questions about Serious Off Road kit install mach3lude Modified Cherokee Tech 17 09-10-2015 03:34 PM
Are these rocker panels correct for my Jeep? John T OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here! 10 09-09-2015 07:58 PM
3000 mile collapsed lifter JamDeeper OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here! 0 09-08-2015 09:50 PM
ZJ 3" lift control arms JPXJMOAB Grand Cherokee Tech 2 09-06-2015 08:16 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.