Jeep Cherokee Forum

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > OEM Cherokee Tech
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read GarageVendor DirectoryvBLive
Search

Welcome to Cherokee Forum!
Welcome to Cherokee Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

submit to reddit

Old 06-23-2009, 04:08 PM   #1

View Kristel's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default Replacing Valve Cover Gasket ('92 laredo)

Hi everyone!

I hope this is the right spot to put this. It looks for sure like I need to replace the valve cover gasket, but I've never done it before. It's in an easy location to work with (right on top with a few hoses over it).

Can any one here give me a step by step on how to do this so I don't have to go to an over priced mechanic for such a small job? Or know of a video online somewhere showing how it's done for a '92 cherokee laredo 4x4 4.0 straight 6 cylinder.

Let me know if you need a photo, I can get that for you to show you the gunky mess all over it.

Thank you soo much for any help!
- Looking for new local buddies in South Jersey to meet up with on weekends!

Kristel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 04:15 PM   #2

View jrhxj1's Photo Album My Photos
96' Cherokee

I just recently did mine. It's very easy. To sum it up, makes sure you have a scraper of some sort to clean the old gasket material after both metal surfaces.
Buy a one piece gasket (FelPro).
Have a torque wrench to put the bolts back to the right torque when you get it back together.
Old 06-23-2009, 05:00 PM   #3