Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Possible 0331 cracked head on my 2001 cherokee?

Old 06-10-2015, 09:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Possible 0331 cracked head on my 2001 cherokee?

Here is my story, it is a bit to read, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

So i bought my 2001 4.0 XJ about 6 months ago, being completely clueless on this whole 0331 cracked head scenario. Im fairly new to cars in general but i have been doing as much reading as i can in the last few months. I pretty much caught the jeep bug.

My jeep was built in May of 2001 and currently has 169k miles on it. The body is in great condition, as well as most of the undercarriage, including virtually no rust on the frame at all. I got my jeep for a great price that i couldnt pass up and everything seemed to be in good order.Interior and paint in great condition. Coolant looking nice and green, running smoothly, shifting well.

2 months went by with no problems besides a leaky Power Steering unit which i replaced.

About a month later i started to have trouble with a rough and stumbling idle followed by a stall when starting my car between 190 and 210 degrees. I got a check engine light for Cylinder 3 misfire as well as Catalyst below minimum and a MAF/MAP which i believed to be all connected to the misfire.

I read about the recall involving the area around injector 3 becoming too hot, and was told to replace my current injectors with upgraded 4 hole injectors. A few weeks later this problem went away with the weather becoming much warmer in my part of the country so i decided to leave the stock injectors alone for now.

It recently came to my attention that my car was built with the dreaded 0331 cylinder head. I began to watch my cooling system, running temp, and oil pressure.