Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

New radiator

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2015, 07:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New radiator

So I'm new to the Cherokee experience and working on cars in general. My 2000 began hemorrhaging coolant and overheating. All the lines running to it are intact with no leaks but looks like the left side of the radiator has been leaking. Just looking for confirmation that's most likely what it is before I order a new one
Attached Images   
Old 02-17-2015, 09:54 PM
CF Veteran

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Year: My Jeep is a GMC

Originally Posted by dw2415
My 2000 began hemorrhaging coolant and overheating.
That's not good, you may want to investigate a little more before you start throwing money at it.
Old 02-17-2015, 09:58 PM

What are some of the other possibilities I should be looking into, any info would be great.
Old 02-17-2015, 10:10 PM
CF Veteran

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L HO

Most auto parts stores rent a cooling system leak tester that pressurizes the cooling system, thus forcing coolant out at the leak making the leak detectable.

Where is your fan shroud?

FWIW, left/right is determined when sitting in the drivers seat, not when standing in front facing the vehicle.
Old 02-17-2015, 10:30 PM

Year: 1990
Engine: 4.0

If the hose or cap isn't leaking and the radiator is covered in coolant that pretty much tells the story. The picture is blurry so I can't tell much from it. Get a pressure tester or fill it when cold, fire it up, and wait for the leak to indicate where it's coming from. You can buy a new radiator or have yours repaired.
Old 02-18-2015, 09:49 AM
CF Veteran

Year: 1999

Welcome to the forum!