Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

New Fuel Pump Noise - LOUD

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2010, 09:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default New Fuel Pump Noise - LOUD

I just replaced my fuel pump. (91 Cherokee, 4.0L F.I.) After about 5 minutes of running a very loud "whirring" sound develops from the pump and tends to get louder the longer it runs. I am suspecting a back pressure issue but I am not an expert in F.I. systems. Any suggestions?

Thanx Guys.
Dave
Old 05-18-2010, 09:57 PM

Year: 1991
Engine: 4.0

Did you get one of those Airteks (sp??)?
Old 05-18-2010, 10:10 PM

Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0 H.O.

Originally Posted by SlapHappy
Did you get one of those Airteks (sp??)?
i hope not, those are garbage.

my jeep has an aftermarket pump, not sure what but it makes a loud whining/electrical buzz at idle. if/when it goes im getting a mopar one. I never cheap out on fuel pumps. i did it once and i had to do the job twice cause the new (airtecks?) pump had a bad check valve. not to mention this was on a 86 camaro where the rear axle needs to be removed to drop the tank. i was not happy.
Old 05-19-2010, 12:12 PM

Default Loud fuel pump

Thanks guys,
Yes it was an airtex pump...but the question is have you experienced this specific problem - ie very loud hum or whirring from the pump? And when I say very loud I mean you have to turn the radio up it's so loud.

Would incorrect return pressure cause this?

More thoughts from anybody.
Old 05-19-2010, 02:20 PM

Yeah...I have the same problem with it (Airtex) Loud as all get out, whirs, hums, buzzes and gets worse when the tank starts to get towards empty.

I had to settle for it when I was stranded, I have a bosch replacement in the garage, just haven't gotten around to replacing it.
Old 05-19-2010, 02:23 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1990
Engine: 4.0 lt. 242 cu.in.