Jeep ECU Reset Procedure - Jeep Cherokee Forum
Jeep Cherokee Forum

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here!
Log In 
Search

     
Old 09-10-2015, 04:25 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
 
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Interior Guides
Print Wikipost

Jeep ECU Reset Procedure

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-28-2010, 06:50 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
DaRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 78

View DaRock's Photo Album My Photos
2001 Cherokee
Thumbs up Jeep ECU Reset Procedure

Home Quadratec Knowledge Center

Jeep Electronic Control Unit Reset

When installing new power or performance accessories how does the computer for the Jeep know that it has a new accessory? Most of the time the computer does not. The computer would need to be reset to take full potential of the performance accessories you have added.

The Electronic Control Module, or ECU as its commonly called, stores the information for your vehicle and your driving habits in its memory. The memory is maintaned by a series of capacitors that hold a charge and maintain power for the ECU when the vehicle is turned off. The following procedure will allow you to reset the memory and allow the computer to 're-learn' how to drive by adjusting to the drivers habits and the vehicles modifications.


1. Disconnect the battery by removing the positive battery cable. Remember, the positive battery cable.

2. Ground the positive cable to the negative cable for 30 seconds to erase the electric charge in the capacitors.

3. Reconnect the positive cable to the battery.

4. Turn the key to on but do not start.

5. Turn the headlights on.

6. Turn the headlights off.

7. Turn the key off.


The ECU has now been reset to its factory settings. For the next 50 warm-up periods the ECU will re-learn the engine and driving habits for your driving conditions and the newly installed parts.
DaRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Cherokee Forum

Join CherokeeForum.com Today - It's Totally Free!

Do you love your Jeep? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Jeep Fans to meet online.
Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your jeep, and have a great time with other Jeep Cherokee fans.. Whether your an old timer or just bought your Jeep you'll find that CherokeeForum.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join CherokeeForum.com Today! - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


-->
Old 04-28-2010, 06:54 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 51

View Beer's Photo Album My Photos
1997 Cherokee
Default

Or just disconnect the negative battery cable, hold down the brakes for a few seconds, and then reconnect negative battery cable. It does the same thing, the ECU resets itself and for the next 50 warm up periods it will relearn everything.
Beer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 07:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
SRT-10Jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 550

View SRT-10Jeep's Photo Album My Photos
1998 Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beer View Post
Or just disconnect the negative battery cable, hold down the brakes for a few seconds, and then reconnect negative battery cable. It does the same thing, the ECU resets itself and for the next 50 warm up periods it will relearn everything.
How does this work?
__________________
Lets just find some mud, and get dirty!!!!!
SRT-10Jeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 01:59 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2

View gardnern99's Photo Album My Photos
1991 Cherokee
Default

I am already averaging about 18.5 mpg in my '91 Cherokee(227,000 miles). I put new plugs/wires in about 5000 miles ago and made an exhaust modification. Is it necessary for me to reset the ECU?
gardnern99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 09:40 AM   #5
CF Veteran
 
VTJeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: 802
Posts: 4,924

View VTJeep's Photo Album My Photos
99 Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gardnern99
I am already averaging about 18.5 mpg in my '91 Cherokee(227,000 miles). I put new plugs/wires in about 5000 miles ago and made an exhaust modification. Is it necessary for me to reset the ECU?
No. You didn't increase the air-fuel-spark ratio, so no need for computer to do anything different. And even if your exhaust is more "free flowing", there is still no increase in intake volume, so nothing really changes except (potentially) back pressure. Which, if you remove too much back pressure without increasing intake volume, your performance will suffer..
__________________
1999 XJ Sport, 4.0, AW4, 31x10.50r15 A/T's, H4+Putco harness, home-brew snorkel (read the comments!!), some trimming, IRO tie rod, small lift, homebrew disco sway bar, carpets?, ac?

2006 TrailBlazer LT. The stock DD.

Chances are I just gave you my two Lincolns. Take it or leave it.

Pitter-patter, lets get at er.
VTJeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 11:48 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 773

View KJamesJR's Photo Album My Photos
1998 Cherokee
Default

You'll need to see a mechanic or dealer for a "deep reset" however. If this were your average computer... This technique more or less "clears the cache".

I had to do this after installing my CPS. Tried this technique and it just made it run worse.
KJamesJR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 12:41 PM   #7
::CF Moderator::
 
Gee oh Dee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 21,155

View Gee oh Dee's Photo Album My Photos
1987 Cherokee
Default

__________________
Rest in peace Brian 96_XJ Perrine

"Build" thread:
http://www.cherokeeforum.com/f46/pro...herokee-58248/



"...To ride a motorcycle well is like making the choice to live in this world and the next simultaneously; It is to carelessly play with hell's devils and God's angels together because anything less would be, to the moto-enthusiast, to do nothing at all..."
Gee oh Dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 01:03 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ocean, New Jersey
Posts: 578

View Kalali's Photo Album My Photos
2000 Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KJamesJR View Post
You'll need to see a mechanic or dealer for a "deep reset" however. If this were your average computer... This technique more or less "clears the cache".

I had to do this after installing my CPS. Tried this technique and it just made it run worse.
You mean it made run worse than before changing the CPS? Could you elaborate?
Kalali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 01:03 PM   #9
CF Veteran
 
DFlintstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Nor-Cal Coast
Posts: 9,516

View DFlintstone's Photo Album My Photos
90,84 Cherokee
Default

I've seen posted you might just leave it disconnected overnight to "let the capacitors bleed down". No idea myself except it sounds easy and harmless.

Yea^, never heard if trying to clear anything because of the cps....
__________________

87-90 Renix jeep owners. This is a link to great info! http://www.cherokeeforum.com/f23/tes...itings-136452/
The book's wrong! #1 is at 5:00, viewed from the side. 153624 clockwise.



$25,000 a year to care for a "pardoned" turkey? Small wonder we are so far in dept! Crooks at the helm should be prosecuted. (Maybe the French could help).

DFlintstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2016, 06:24 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1

View Kyle Jackson's Photo Album My Photos
1997 Cherokee
Default Can you use a scan tool?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaRock View Post
Home Quadratec Knowledge Center

Jeep Electronic Control Unit Reset

When installing new power or performance accessories how does the computer for the Jeep know that it has a new accessory? Most of the time the computer does not. The computer would need to be reset to take full potential of the performance accessories you have added.

The Electronic Control Module, or ECU as its commonly called, stores the information for your vehicle and your driving habits in its memory. The memory is maintaned by a series of capacitors that hold a charge and maintain power for the ECU when the vehicle is turned off. The following procedure will allow you to reset the memory and allow the computer to 're-learn' how to drive by adjusting to the drivers habits and the vehicles modifications.


1. Disconnect the battery by removing the positive battery cable. Remember, the positive battery cable.

2. Ground the positive cable to the negative cable for 30 seconds to erase the electric charge in the capacitors.

3. Reconnect the positive cable to the battery.

4. Turn the key to on but do not start.

5. Turn the headlights on.

6. Turn the headlights off.

7. Turn the key off.


The ECU has now been reset to its factory settings. For the next 50 warm-up periods the ECU will re-learn the engine and driving habits for your driving conditions and the newly installed parts.
Can you just use a OTC scan tool to reset or does the capacitors still need drained to relearn? My scan tool has fuel map relearn and cam crank position relearn. That's what I did when I changed my worn out timing chain (https://youtu.be/PfW_StKs3Yw) (about like that lol )and installed cold air intake, 62 mmthrottle body, and magnaflow high flow cat,and the four hole injectors. Have not got readings for mpg yet but it has to be better than 13 mpg. Hoping!
Kyle Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 03:21 PM   #11
CF Veteran
 
DFlintstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Nor-Cal Coast
Posts: 9,516

View DFlintstone's Photo Album My Photos
90,84 Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Jackson View Post
has to be better than 13 mpg. Hoping!
Hi Kyle and welcome! Not that I could offer anything else regarding your puter', but you do need to fill out your info so we can easily see what you have. (some guys you might want to hear from, might just ignore you if you don't).

If you are running oversize tires your odometer will under read as they are spinning slower. I need to add 4% to my miles before dividing by gallons, for example. The four hole injectors may, or may not give you an extra MPG or two. It WILL idle and run smoother.
__________________

87-90 Renix jeep owners. This is a link to great info! http://www.cherokeeforum.com/f23/tes...itings-136452/
The book's wrong! #1 is at 5:00, viewed from the side. 153624 clockwise.



$25,000 a year to care for a "pardoned" turkey? Small wonder we are so far in dept! Crooks at the helm should be prosecuted. (Maybe the French could help).

DFlintstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 11:42 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 42

View Rockchalk's Photo Album My Photos
1996 Cherokee
Default

Found this in a search. Is the OP method the best and when I do it do I actually touch the POS terminal to the NEG terminal while the NEG terminal is connected to the battery... or do I disconnect the NEG terminal as well?
Rockchalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 12:37 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Waynerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: North canaan Connecticut
Posts: 540

View Waynerd's Photo Album My Photos
01, 99, 98, 98,98 Cherokee
Default

I've had success with disconnecting the + cable and resting it on the AC bracket to ground it for a few minutes.
__________________
88xj-sold $50
96zj-totaled, hit by a tj
02wj-totaled
01xj-very clean, wife's DD
99xj-project (now using for parts)
98xj-built as trail rig, making it a driver
98xj-bought for parts but decided to revive
98xj-bought for parts
Waynerd is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rough Idle in gear while stopped - P0432 w/ FF data Blackcherokee290 OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here! 22 05-15-2016 01:48 PM
2000 xj won't start and its not the CPS zumer715 OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here! 11 09-08-2015 10:43 PM
How do I use a vacuum pump to diagnose rough idle? rdr8887 OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here! 7 08-26-2015 12:12 AM
2002 jeep grand 4x4 4.0 Steve lock Grand Cherokee Tech 2 08-25-2015 08:58 PM
Removed tranny, replaced tranny, now wont rev past 2k rpms? Zerocyde OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here! 5 08-24-2015 11:56 AM

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here!



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.


This site is in no way affiliated with Jeep or Chrysler.