Jeep Cherokee Forum

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > OEM Cherokee Tech
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Welcome to Cherokee Forum!
Welcome to Cherokee Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2008, 09:50 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 91

View antibiotics's Photo Album My Photos
1999 Cherokee
Default how to remove the instrument panel

Hi there,

Following the suggestion of UNCC_99XJ, I am trying to fix the gauge problem on my 1999 cherokee classic 4wd, 6 cyl as they are quit working from time to time.

Can somebody provide me a write up on this?

Thanks.

Qian
antibiotics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 09:57 AM   #2
Renix Super Guru
 
BlueXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In yourz postez fissin jurr spelinzs
Posts: 24,536

View BlueXJ's Photo Album My Photos
1990XJ/1989MJ Cherokee
Send a message via Yahoo to BlueXJ
Default

Try this one it was intended for swapping from idiot lights to a full instrument cluster but will serve your purposes I think.
http://naxja.org/forum/showthread.ph...luster+removal
__________________
JEEP I bow to its almighty power which no mortal 4x4 can match.
R.I.P. Zachman you will be missed.
CF the friendly forum
R.I.P. Brian (96_XJ) Perinne

CBW Member #69
BlueXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 10:38 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 91

View antibiotics's Photo Album My Photos
1999 Cherokee
Default One more thing

Thanks for the write up. I forget to mention one thing, while all the gauges quite working, I send the car to emission test. And it turned out the test machine can not communicate with my car through OBD port. Is this normal, will this be fixed after I clean and secure the connection of instrument cluster or there is something else going on?

Thanks.
antibiotics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 10:45 AM   #4
Renix Super Guru
 
BlueXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In yourz postez fissin jurr spelinzs
Posts: 24,536

View BlueXJ's Photo Album My Photos
1990XJ/1989MJ Cherokee
Send a message via Yahoo to BlueXJ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antibiotics View Post
Thanks for the write up. I forget to mention one thing, while all the gauges quite working, I send the car to emission test. And it turned out the test machine can not communicate with my car through OBD port. Is this normal, will this be fixed after I clean and secure the connection of instrument cluster or there is something else going on?

Thanks.
You got me on that one. Never had that happen to any of my XJs and my current one has no OBD stuff so no problem for mine. Someone else may want to chime in here.
__________________
JEEP I bow to its almighty power which no mortal 4x4 can match.
R.I.P. Zachman you will be missed.
CF the friendly forum
R.I.P. Brian (96_XJ) Perinne

CBW Member #69
BlueXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 10:46 AM   #5
Empire Offroad
 
89xjgrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 116

View 89xjgrey's Photo Album My Photos
1999 Cherokee
Default

Sounds to me like there is a big issue with the communication bus. I'd walk you through it, but that would take me all day. Good luck.
__________________
Empire Offroad Owner/Technician

99 XJ Limited / 5.5" RE Hybrid Longarm / 33 x 12.50 x 15 MT'R's on Cragars / Aussie Locked Ford 8.8 4.10 / HP Dana 30 4.10 / SYE / Alloy USA Tube Seals
89xjgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 10:49 AM   #6
Empire Offroad
 
89xjgrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 116

View 89xjgrey's Photo Album My Photos
1999 Cherokee
Default

I would take it to a professional and have it diagnosed properly...Tracing a communication line can be very technical.
__________________
Empire Offroad Owner/Technician

99 XJ Limited / 5.5" RE Hybrid Longarm / 33 x 12.50 x 15 MT'R's on Cragars / Aussie Locked Ford 8.8 4.10 / HP Dana 30 4.10 / SYE / Alloy USA Tube Seals
89xjgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 11:20 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 91

View antibiotics's Photo Album My Photos
1999 Cherokee
Default So this will be a big trouble

It will not be fixed by cleaning the cluster?

Thanks.
antibiotics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 11:47 AM   #8
Empire Offroad
 
89xjgrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 116

View 89xjgrey's Photo Album My Photos
1999 Cherokee
Default

Correct. I seriously doubt cleaning the two connectors on the back of the instrument cluster will fix the problem. I would check fuse number 17 in the power distribution center. That is the main power fuse for the information bus. It also provides power to the data link connector, which spiders into the instrument cluster, SKIM module, transmission module, air bag module, pcm, keyless entry, and trip computer. Give that a shot and let me know...
__________________
Empire Offroad Owner/Technician

99 XJ Limited / 5.5" RE Hybrid Longarm / 33 x 12.50 x 15 MT'R's on Cragars / Aussie Locked Ford 8.8 4.10 / HP Dana 30 4.10 / SYE / Alloy USA Tube Seals
89xjgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 12:15 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 91

View antibiotics's Photo Album My Photos
1999 Cherokee
Default One more observation

Thank you, 89xjgrey, will do that. But let me add one more information I just noticed. The gauges were back just now, and I used my OBD scanner to check for code, it seems no problem for the scanner "talking" the Jeep. Does this mean anything?


Thanks.
antibiotics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 12:21 PM   #10
Empire Offroad
 
89xjgrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 116

View 89xjgrey's Photo Album My Photos
1999 Cherokee
Default

Well if everything works sometimes, and then everything quits sometimes...there is definately a short somewhere in the wiring harness. If you can communicate with the Jeep using an OBDII scanner, or code reader then fuse 17 is good.
__________________
Empire Offroad Owner/Technician

99 XJ Limited / 5.5" RE Hybrid Longarm / 33 x 12.50 x 15 MT'R's on Cragars / Aussie Locked Ford 8.8 4.10 / HP Dana 30 4.10 / SYE / Alloy USA Tube Seals
89xjgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 03:33 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 91

View antibiotics's Photo Album My Photos
1999 Cherokee
Default

Could this be a computer (PCM) problem? Thanks.
antibiotics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 03:43 PM   #12
Renix Super Guru
 
BlueXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In yourz postez fissin jurr spelinzs
Posts: 24,536

View BlueXJ's Photo Album My Photos
1990XJ/1989MJ Cherokee
Send a message via Yahoo to BlueXJ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antibiotics View Post
Could this be a computer (PCM) problem? Thanks.
Highly unlikely if it starts and runs. Gotta have the ECU for that all the time. Sounds like checking and cleaning all dash connections is a very good place to start. Once the cluster is out and you get a better look you may be able to see the problem. If not clean each connection and reattach the plug and move on to the next until you have cleaned and done all the ones you can see and/or reach. Put it back together and see if the problem has ceased to exist. Let us know!!
__________________
JEEP I bow to its almighty power which no mortal 4x4 can match.
R.I.P. Zachman you will be missed.
CF the friendly forum
R.I.P. Brian (96_XJ) Perinne

CBW Member #69
BlueXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 04:22 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 91

View antibiotics's Photo Album My Photos
1999 Cherokee
Default Please look at this recall

I would like to express my sincere gratefulness to all of you for the prompt and knowledgable response.

I found a recall which may be related to my problem, any comments?
Safety Recall No.860
Airbag Control Module

Models
1997-1999 (XJ) Jeep(R) Cherokee

IMPORTANT: Some of the involved vehicles may be in dealer new vehicle inventory. Federal law requires you to stop sale and complete this recall service on these vehicles before retail delivery. Dealers should also consider this requirement to apply to used vehicle inventory and should perform this recall on vehicles in for service. Involved vehicles can be determined by using the DIAL VIP System.

Subject

The Airbag Control Module (ACM) on about 390,000 of the above vehicles may corrode internally due to water intrusion. Internal corrosion could cause illumination of the airbag warning light or cause the airbags to deploy without warning. This could injure a front seat occupant if they are out of position or cause an accident without warning.

Repair

The ACM must be replaced and relocated.
antibiotics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 04:30 PM   #14
Renix Super Guru
 
BlueXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In yourz postez fissin jurr spelinzs
Posts: 24,536

View BlueXJ's Photo Album My Photos
1990XJ/1989MJ Cherokee
Send a message via Yahoo to BlueXJ
Default

Unless you have an airbag light then I doubt it is your problem. Get it checked by the dealership. They can run your vin to see if it has already been performed by the PO.
__________________
JEEP I bow to its almighty power which no mortal 4x4 can match.
R.I.P. Zachman you will be missed.
CF the friendly forum
R.I.P. Brian (96_XJ) Perinne

CBW Member #69
BlueXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 04:41 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 91

View antibiotics's Photo Album My Photos
1999 Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueXJ View Post
Unless you have an airbag light then I doubt it is your problem. Get it checked by the dealership. They can run your vin to see if it has already been performed by the PO.
Yes, I did have an airbag light on whenever the guages quit working.
antibiotics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 04:41 PM
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to remove the shock absorber antibiotics OEM Cherokee Tech 4 11-23-2008 08:29 PM
Shift Linkage Adjuster Clamp-can't remove Fishman8 Grand Cherokee Tech 1 11-02-2008 09:23 PM
88 instrument panel jakedalton OEM Cherokee Tech 7 09-26-2008 09:58 AM
1990 instrument panel ron768 OEM Cherokee Tech 3 05-30-2008 08:45 AM
No instrument lights bjh1225 Grand Cherokee Tech 1 08-02-2007 05:56 PM

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > OEM Cherokee Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 PM.


This site is in no way affiliated with Jeep or Chrysler.

Emails Backup