Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

High revving when started

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2016, 09:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default High revving when started

Hey guys. I'm new to the Cherokee world but not new to working on cars. I've been lurking on the sight and trying to find reason why my jeep, when started, revs all the way to redline. I recently replaced my head with a tupy head. I pulled everything apart and made the mistake of not labeling them when pulling it apart. I put everything back when it needs to be but I'm confused when it comes to the vacuum lines. when I was taking my vacuum lines off one broke so I replaced it with another hose. I have 3 lines that run into the back of the intake. One of them that I have I see most people just have a rubber plug over it. I think it's the climate control/cruise control line. I have cleaned my iac and throttle bottle. None of my accel cables are stuck either. I just bought new iac and rod and I'm going to try that. Anyone have any suggestions? Btw it's a 2000 Cherokee sport. Thanks for any input!
Old 04-06-2016, 11:21 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Year: 1990
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0l

Does it rev high and stay there or rev for a few seconds and settles to a normal idle ?
Old 04-06-2016, 11:59 PM

Originally Posted by Oswalla
Does it rev high and stay there or rev for a few seconds and settles to a normal idle ?