Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Head gasket tips N tricks

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2009, 01:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Head gasket tips N tricks

Hi guys, new to the Jeep brand, I just bought myself a 4x4 1996 Jeep Cherokee Laredo for $300, body and interior are in great shape, but it has a blown head gasket, there is no water in the oil, the oil is the right colour but its blowing steam out the tailpipe, now then, I have never done a head gasket before, but I am willing to get my hands dirty, I can follow instructions from the Haynes, but folk who have done these jobs before always have tricks and tips, could anyone who has done theirs please give me a rough guide and any tips or tricks you may have, I am also going to replace the water pump, thermostat and give the cooling system a right good clean out. Oh and also anyone please recommend a good 3" lift kit for this model.
Old 10-26-2009, 04:01 AM
CF Veteran

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Year: 1988
Engine: AMC242

If you're not sure it's a head gasket, and you're not seeing a lot of water in the oil, a leakdown test is indicated next (at the very least, do a compression check. You don't mention having done that.

Bear in mind that the "ash" from the combustion of any hydrocarbon is composed of carbon dioxide (same thing we exhale - take that, greenhouse gas movement!) and water vapour (read: steam.)