Jeep Cherokee Forum

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > OEM Cherokee Tech
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Welcome to Cherokee Forum!
Welcome to Cherokee Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2009, 01:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11

View jasoneggleston's Photo Album My Photos
1994 Cherokee
Default Gas gauge and speedometer not working

The gas gauge and speedometer stopped working in my 94 Jeep Cherokee.
I was driving down the road and the speedometer and gas gauges started jumping. Then the gas gauge went all the way around past full and the speedometer is stuck on 0.

I had another gauge cluster. This one had come with the Jeep when I bought it but I changed it because the speedometer and odometer didn't work. The fuel gauge worked fine. When I plugged it in the gas gauge went all the way past full and the speedometer and odometer still do not work.

Any ideas what it could be?

A bad ground maybe?
I thought maybe it was the float in the gas tank but I don't see how that would screw up the speedometer too.
jasoneggleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 01:43 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jd4x426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 920

View jd4x426's Photo Album My Photos
1996 Cherokee
Default

it could be 2 diiferent problems but i would start with checking grounds that seems to be a pretty common problem
jd4x426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 02:06 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
FlyingLow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 747

View FlyingLow's Photo Album My Photos
1996 XJ Sport 2007 KJ Rubicon
Default

Check the grounds, and if the new cluster didn't solve it check the sending units.
__________________
96 XJ aka Ol' Blue R.I.P. (Cash for clunkers) Doorless, straight piped, hi-lift on hood, 2 55w Hellas, 4 100w generics, trimmed bumpers and fenders, hidden recovery points, and a marine sound system You will be missed
07 KJ aka Urban Redneck snow camo, straight piped, 6-speed, 6 100w lights, 4 55w lights, rock lights (aka green neons),hi- lift on roof, 4" lift, trimmed fenders, 35" muds, and a loud system. Future Plans- 8- 12 inches of lift, 37's, SAS, sb V8, homebrew steel bumpers.
FlyingLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 02:09 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11

View jasoneggleston's Photo Album My Photos
1994 Cherokee
Default

Thanks for the quick reply.

I was just outside taking a look at it all.

How/where is it grounded? Is it one of the wires in the plug?

Where can I find a wiring diagram for the Jeep?

Sorry if the questions are novice but I am sort of electrically challenged. I can wire all the audio in the world but this other stuff is new to me.
jasoneggleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 02:12 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
FlyingLow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 747

View FlyingLow's Photo Album My Photos
1996 XJ Sport 2007 KJ Rubicon
Default

Grab a Haynes or Chilton manual from any auto parts store. They are life savers.
__________________
96 XJ aka Ol' Blue R.I.P. (Cash for clunkers) Doorless, straight piped, hi-lift on hood, 2 55w Hellas, 4 100w generics, trimmed bumpers and fenders, hidden recovery points, and a marine sound system You will be missed
07 KJ aka Urban Redneck snow camo, straight piped, 6-speed, 6 100w lights, 4 55w lights, rock lights (aka green neons),hi- lift on roof, 4" lift, trimmed fenders, 35" muds, and a loud system. Future Plans- 8- 12 inches of lift, 37's, SAS, sb V8, homebrew steel bumpers.
FlyingLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 02:14 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11

View jasoneggleston's Photo Album My Photos
1994 Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingLow View Post
Grab a Haynes or Chilton manual from any auto parts store. They are life savers.
I have a Haynes manual in front of me now. Not sure what I am looking for though.
jasoneggleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 02:22 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11

View jasoneggleston's Photo Album My Photos
1994 Cherokee
Default

Okay.. progress maybe??

I found the page in the Haynes manual labeled "Instrument panel ground wiring diagram". I would have to assume this is the right page. Now to decipher it...
jasoneggleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 02:40 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
FlyingLow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 747

View FlyingLow's Photo Album My Photos
1996 XJ Sport 2007 KJ Rubicon
Default

Sounds right. Good luck
__________________
96 XJ aka Ol' Blue R.I.P. (Cash for clunkers) Doorless, straight piped, hi-lift on hood, 2 55w Hellas, 4 100w generics, trimmed bumpers and fenders, hidden recovery points, and a marine sound system You will be missed
07 KJ aka Urban Redneck snow camo, straight piped, 6-speed, 6 100w lights, 4 55w lights, rock lights (aka green neons),hi- lift on roof, 4" lift, trimmed fenders, 35" muds, and a loud system. Future Plans- 8- 12 inches of lift, 37's, SAS, sb V8, homebrew steel bumpers.
FlyingLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 07:25 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11

View jasoneggleston's Photo Album My Photos
1994 Cherokee
Default

Not so easy finding the bad ground.

The page in the Haynes Manual was not the right page and I cannot find a diagram for the grounds.

There are 13 wires going to the plug that plugs into the cluster. Anybody know where I can find out what each wire is? Or more specific.. which may be a ground wire?

Is there any way to create a new ground without finding the problem.
jasoneggleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 03:42 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1

View jimmsy's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Talking

I've had the same problem, but this is how i solved it. First of all, remove your instrument cluster. You will notice on the back of the cluster, a curciut board type of plastic laid out and secured by mounts and screws. You will also notice the sockets were the plugs fit into, one in the centre of the instrument cluster, which suplies info to your speedo, tacho, and gauges, the other plug fits on the side which suplies power and displays your warning lights , check engine status and 4 wheel drive mode. First thing you should do is clean the ciurcut board with a ciurcut board cleaner. Try not using something to harsh as it may damage the plastic which the circuit copper is mounted on. Your local electronic hobby store should have the appropriate cleaner. Remove the screws which are on the back of the speedo making contact with the ciurcut board. Clean these screws and the copper beneath them so you have a good contact between both surfaces. I actually did all the screws (i think about six or eight, just cannot remember). You will also notice where the main socket plugs into, there are three screws holding that mount. Remove those screws and fold out the plastic. There is a pretty good chance that there is plenty of grime/ dust, just sitting there. Clean this up with your ciurcut board cleaner aswell. while your at it, also spray the plug pack with the circuit board cleaner just to make sure thats clean aswell. Dont worry about the fluid comming out of the spray pack, as its alcohol bassed and evaporates pretty quick. Then put the screws back into place, sockets back into place, and remount the instrument cluster. Finally to make sure that the ground is actually ground, open the hood, and next to the oil filter, you will see a set of wires ground to the engine block. This is your ground for your instrumentation and interior. Loosen the nut holding the wires to the engine block, and spray it with RP4 or WD40, or anything similar (electrical lubricant). This should clean any grime or grease off the mount and should improve contact between the engine block and wires. I tried all this and have found that my speedo has come back to life, working perfectly. It seemed as there was a ground issue and once all contacts have been cleaned, you should have no more problem!! I hope this helps....Click the image to open in full size.
jimmsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 08:35 AM   #11
CF Veteran
 
Grolla42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,184

View Grolla42's Photo Album My Photos
1988 Cherokee
Default

Maybe your speedometer cable goin to the tcase and fuel pump went out at the same time if the circuit board is ok afterall
Grolla42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 08:35 AM
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temp Gauge not working 92_comanche OEM Cherokee Tech 12 11-18-2012 08:25 PM
My 1991 Cherokee Gas Gauge/Speedometer/Odometer Dead sws123 OEM Cherokee Tech 4 09-10-2011 07:31 PM
Temp gauge stopped working Dan4governor OEM Cherokee Tech 7 05-21-2009 12:46 AM
when speedometer stops working engine idle drops at idle tntxj91 OEM Cherokee Tech 0 03-10-2009 06:20 PM
speedometer quit working danthejeepman90 OEM Cherokee Tech 1 08-17-2008 04:30 PM

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > OEM Cherokee Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


This site is in no way affiliated with Jeep or Chrysler.

Emails Backup