Jeep Cherokee Forum

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > OEM Cherokee Tech
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Welcome to Cherokee Forum!
Welcome to Cherokee Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2010, 01:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston
Posts: 4

View eddera's Photo Album My Photos
2000 Cherokee
Default cold starting/idle problems

i have a problem with my 2000 jeep cherokee that i can't figure out...two days ago it would crank but it wouldn't start. if i give it gas it'll start but unless i hold the gas pedal down some the rpm's just drop till it cuts off. after it's been running for 15-25 minutes it'll idle like normal. other than that it runs just as good as ever. i've disconnected and reconnected the battery, cleaned the iac valve and my tps is displaying correct voltage. also i do NOT have a check engine light on...i'm lost and would appreciate any ideas

thanks,
jake
eddera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 03:15 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston
Posts: 4

View eddera's Photo Album My Photos
2000 Cherokee
Default

just a btw it's a 4.0 if that helps, thanks
eddera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 10:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5

View fughley's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default

I am having the exact same problem with mine!
Make any progress?
It seems like it either catches and fires up fine or I miss the first cylinder firing and it just wont start unless I give it gas. I checked all the vaccum fittings and didn't find a thing.
I'll keep watching this thread.
fughley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 10:18 PM   #4
CF Veteran
 
trans_am7935's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,792

View trans_am7935's Photo Album My Photos
1994 Cherokee
Default

the TPS (throttle position sensor) could read voltage, doesn't mean it is functioning. i would replace that, but first look for a vacuum leak. check for a cut in your brake booster line or on the vacuum line from the throttle body to the map sensor. a bad TPS sensor will not throw a code unless it is broken. a malfunction will inconveniently not throw a code. unplug the TPS sensor and see if it does the same thing, or if the check engine light comes on.good luck
__________________
<Build Thread> / <YouTube Page> / <FQUICK>
1994 Jeep Cherokee 4x4 5 speed 4.0 H.O. flex headers, Flowmaster cat back, Magnaflow cat, stock clutch, K&N, 6.5" Rusty's lift w/ RC long arm, 35" mudders, Bushwackers, JCR Stage 3 Sliders, ORO U-turn Steering, Dana 44, Detroit locker, Dana 30 HP Detroit Tru trac, 4.56 gears, 136amp alt, Camo Paint
trans_am7935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 12:11 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston
Posts: 4

View eddera's Photo Album My Photos
2000 Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trans_am7935 View Post
the TPS (throttle position sensor) could read voltage, doesn't mean it is functioning. i would replace that, but first look for a vacuum leak. check for a cut in your brake booster line or on the vacuum line from the throttle body to the map sensor. a bad TPS sensor will not throw a code unless it is broken. a malfunction will inconveniently not throw a code. unplug the TPS sensor and see if it does the same thing, or if the check engine light comes on.good luck
alright i know all my lines are good but i'll check the tps in the morning and just for overkill i'll probably check my cps, egr, check my intake for a leak and have autozone check my battery...hopefully that takes care of the problem haha
eddera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 02:52 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 53

View jsport's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default

i had almost the same problem with my old jeep it was a piece on the fuel pump i forget the name but i just turned my key to on and off about 4 times then started rite up
jsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 04:00 PM   #7
CF Veteran
 
trans_am7935's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,792

View trans_am7935's Photo Album My Photos
1994 Cherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsport View Post
i had almost the same problem with my old jeep it was a piece on the fuel pump i forget the name but i just turned my key to on and off about 4 times then started rite up
i believe you are talking about the sending unit on top of the fuel pump, it is the piece that tells the fuel pump to turn on when the ignition is in the on position while the engine is still off. after that the constant voltage from the computer tells it to keep running.
__________________
<Build Thread> / <YouTube Page> / <FQUICK>
1994 Jeep Cherokee 4x4 5 speed 4.0 H.O. flex headers, Flowmaster cat back, Magnaflow cat, stock clutch, K&N, 6.5" Rusty's lift w/ RC long arm, 35" mudders, Bushwackers, JCR Stage 3 Sliders, ORO U-turn Steering, Dana 44, Detroit locker, Dana 30 HP Detroit Tru trac, 4.56 gears, 136amp alt, Camo Paint
trans_am7935 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 02:33 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston
Posts: 4

View eddera's Photo Album My Photos
2000 Cherokee
Default

yeah mine was just the battery...
eddera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 10:26 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5

View fughley's Photo Album My Photos
Cherokee
Default

OK I just replaced the TPS and no change in condition.
And that was after pulling the harness off of the sensor as was mentioned earlier. So The sending unit could also be a problem?
On to the next possibility.
Eddera- I noticed that you mentioned that the battery was the issue, how so?
I replaced my battery cables and the starter power circuit with 1 gauge cable. I wonder if that could be a factor......
Thanks for the input and if i get this figured out, I will post it.
fughley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 10:31 AM   #10
CF Veteran
 
Diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wantage, NJ
Posts: 2,112

View Diesel's Photo Album My Photos
1995 Cherokee
Default

Check for constant fuel/spark.
__________________
MECP
ASE Advanced/UnderCar/Mid-Heavy Truck/Automobile/Advanced Engine Performance Specialist
NJJC/NEJ/NCOR/M4X4
2001 F-250- 7.3, 500+HP, 1000+TQ
Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 10:31 AM
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
cold start, idle, problem, start
Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > OEM Cherokee Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No high idle at cold start.. rough idle 1000jeep OEM Cherokee Tech 5 07-31-2010 08:55 PM
Starting problems from cold philmag Grand Cherokee Tech 2 06-22-2010 05:53 PM
Cold Starting Issue? tracklady OEM Cherokee Tech 3 04-17-2010 08:01 PM
Will not idle when cold jimd4x4 Grand Cherokee Tech 9 03-20-2010 02:09 PM
Cold Starting Problem hootnholler OEM Cherokee Tech 2 12-23-2008 11:30 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site is in no way affiliated with Jeep or Chrysler.

Emails Backup