Camshaft position sensor - Jeep Cherokee Forum
Jeep Cherokee Forum


Camshaft position sensor

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-06-2011, 05:20 PM   #1
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ct.
Posts: 29

View DoJo's Photo Album My Photos
Default Camshaft position sensor

Hey Guy's

Can anyone tell me where the camshaft position sensor is located on a 99 Cherokee 4.0L
I have been throwing P1391 code - replaced the crankshaft sensor and its still giving that code every 80 miles or so.
My Haynes manual is useless.
Also - what are the chances of the sensor failing all together?

Thanks in advance,

Don
DoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 05:39 PM   #2
CF Veteran
 
builtnotbought89''s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 6,328

View builtnotbought89''s Photo Album My Photos
Default

Your crankshaft position sensor (CPS) is on the back of the motor, pinched between the top drivers side of the transmissions bell housing & the firewall! They go bad pretty often, but if you change it & it goes bad again within the next 6 months one might have a bigger problem. It might also be that it isn't adjusted properly, some not all COS units need to be adjusted... not sure about the late model cherokees.

Last edited by builtnotbought89'; 06-06-2011 at 05:42 PM.
builtnotbought89' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 05:44 PM   #3
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ct.
Posts: 29

View DoJo's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Hey Built,

Replaced the crankshaft sensor yesterday..

I found out where that on 99 & older it's called a "Stator" and it's located inside the distributor.
They say you have to remove the distributor in order to replace it.

Anyone have a easier way?

Thanks,
DoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 06:10 PM   #4
Member
 
SNIDELYWHIPLASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 207

View SNIDELYWHIPLASH's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoJo View Post
Hey Built,

Replaced the crankshaft sensor yesterday..

I found out where that on 99 & older it's called a "Stator" and it's located inside the distributor.
They say you have to remove the distributor in order to replace it.

Anyone have a easier way?

Thanks,
It's an easy job...
You only have to remove the distributor on the Renix models.
See this site for more info:
http://www.lunghd.com/Tech_Articles/...lse_Stator.htm
SNIDELYWHIPLASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 07:11 PM   #5
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ct.
Posts: 29

View DoJo's Photo Album My Photos
Default

That's a beautiful thing....

Thanks!!
DoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 01:00 PM   #6
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ct.
Posts: 29

View DoJo's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I'm back........

Replaced crankshaft sensor twice, camshaft sensor, and the cap & rotor, and I'm still getting a P1391 code after about 80 miles.
Does anyone know what else to look for?

According to the Haynes manual the code is for either crankshaft or camshaft sensor...
I'm at a loss for an answer...

Thanks,

Don
DoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 01:34 PM   #7
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 294

View SlackJaw's Photo Album My Photos
Default

did u reset the ECU? or disconnect the battery?
SlackJaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 01:38 PM   #8
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ct.
Posts: 29

View DoJo's Photo Album My Photos
Default

The only thing I did was reset the code with a scanner - should I disconnect the battery for a period of time? Will this reset the ECU?

Thanks,

Don
DoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 03:00 PM   #9
CF Veteran
 
s14unimog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,371

View s14unimog's Photo Album My Photos
Default

^ya, that's usually how to do it. Not sure how long thought, might just leave it over night.
s14unimog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 05:34 PM   #10
CF Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: In the middle of Minnesota!
Posts: 5,128

View tjwalker's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Definitely clear the code. If the code is still there, it might be from when the actual fault was there. But if you are continuing to set a check engine light, the fault still exists.

And also remember that their is wiring and connectors involved, besides the sensor itself.

I like cleaning the connectors with a generous spray of electrical contact cleaner and add a small dab of dielectric grease before reconnecting.
tjwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 12:56 PM   #11
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ct.
Posts: 29

View DoJo's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Well, I'm still having a 1391 code problem.

I've done everything mentioned - motor never skips a beat and runs great.
Whenever I reset the code it comes back after 50 or so miles..
This is very perplexing - any other ideas??

Thanks,

Don
DoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 07:09 PM   #12
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ct.
Posts: 29

View DoJo's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I guess no one else has any ideas??
No matter what I search I cannot find anything beyond what I have done.............
DoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 07:43 PM   #13
Seasoned Member
 
En.Ki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kremmling, CO
Posts: 350

View En.Ki's Photo Album My Photos
Default

just had a similar issue... but I am odb1 and got a code 11... in my case it turned out to be the crankshaft position sensor... but I also replaced my dist. cap, rotor, campshaft sensor, and ignition coil... as the ignition coil was cracked and the manual says if there is any cracks or damage replace it also... I don't know if that would help but it is what I did.
En.Ki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 12:23 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
J20jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 54

View J20jeepster's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by En.Ki View Post
just had a similar issue... but I am odb1 and got a code 11... in my case it turned out to be the crankshaft position sensor... but I also replaced my dist. cap, rotor, campshaft sensor, and ignition coil... as the ignition coil was cracked and the manual says if there is any cracks or damage replace it also... I don't know if that would help but it is what I did.
Was that on your 96?
J20jeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 06:02 PM   #15
CF Veteran
 
caged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,154

View caged's Photo Album My Photos
Default

same as one of my tj's, replaced both the crankshaft and camshaft sensors and the cel is still there with the same code. i've tried removing it with a code reader a couple of times.

it starts and runs great now, so i haven't worried about it.
caged is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1996 4.0 into a 2000/01 XJ - Build Thread t.mcginley.jr Jeep Builds 82 08-30-2016 05:23 PM
Engine dies while driving JayneCobb OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here! 18 12-11-2015 10:28 PM
No Crank No Start LILJJ98 Grand Cherokee Tech 2 09-16-2015 02:18 PM
Please Help, Fuel Problems... I think Ella15 Cherokee Chat 0 09-04-2015 06:18 PM
reliable crank sensor jmarzo OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here! 3 09-03-2015 12:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.