Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

97 xj Thermostat housing

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2017, 11:27 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 97 xj Thermostat housing

I'm in the process of replacing thermostat and coolant sensor followed by water pump in the next day or so. I live where it's 100 degrees all the time so I am being proactive as I just bought the jeep.

In taking off the thermostat housing tonight, I found the housing to be very Rusty inside, much more than I would have imagined. I've taken it off and and going to scrub it down. With that said, I imagine the rest of the system is pretty nasty. The coolant is still green with a slight brown tint although I believe its relatively new. What is the best course of action for the coolant system based on my findings tonight? I am new at this so keep that in mind.\

THanks,
Old 01-01-2017, 11:43 PM
Moderator CF K9-unit

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Year: 2000 sport
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: New 4.0l from s&j engines

Originally Posted by freeworld71
I'm in the process of replacing thermostat and coolant sensor followed by water pump in the next day or so. I live where it's 100 degrees all the time so I am being proactive as I just bought the jeep.

In taking off the thermostat housing tonight, I found the housing to be very Rusty inside, much more than I would have imagined. I've taken it off and and going to scrub it down. With that said, I imagine the rest of the system is pretty nasty. The coolant is still green with a slight brown tint although I believe its relatively new. What is the best course of action for the coolant system based on my findings tonight? I am new at this so keep that in mind.\

THanks,