Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

96 XJ Headlight Harness (under Air Box)

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2013, 06:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default 96 XJ Headlight Harness (under Air Box)

Anyone have the pinout/wire color of the harness going to the header panel? I've had some odd issues recently (no running lights), then right turn signal started working sometimes and others not, then today, when I turn on signals, my lights flash high to low like I'm a cop. Pulled the airbox only to find that 5 of the 7 wires were out of the plug. Need to wire them back in, and/or bypass the plug all together, so need the wiring color/pairings/pinout.

Someone help... I have no headlights currently.
Old 01-21-2013, 07:45 PM

I need C106 pinout/wire colors/positions, please.
Old 01-22-2013, 03:16 PM

The more I moved the (headlight harness side) plug for C106, the more wires broke off. Not having a molex removal tool and not wanting to entirely fudge up the equation, I cut off the (again, headlight harness side) C106 plug, and added female bullet connector plugs to the ends of each wire, and hard plugged them into the opposite side C106 plug. A ton of tape, zip ties, and good luck, and I'm back online for the time being,. I will be swapping my header panel anyway, as I have cracked bolt holes and broken screws/bolts that hold the marker and bezels on, so I will also snag a headlight harness at that time to make everything clean and correct again.

I could have chose to just bypass the C106 harness plug entirely, and tap the (end side) wires before the C106 plug, but felt that was an irreversible modification and if the front header would ever have to be swapped out (or the harness), that this would cause issues).