Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

96 XJ Code 11, etc. - Can't figure it out

Old 03-10-2016, 11:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 96 XJ Code 11, etc. - Can't figure it out

Hello all,

This is my first time posting to this forum, but this site has been so helpful when diagnosing/fixing issues even without posting.

I have my '96 XJ 4x4, 274,000ish miles. I don't know what was done to it before I bought it 20-30,000 miles ago and I'm trying to fix it up and keep it going as long as I can.

So, here are my current problems:

1. I keep getting a code 11. I don't have a code reader (checking by turning key 3x) but according to my manual it has to do with the Crankshaft Position Sensor...which I've replaced. I've disconnected the negative terminal on my battery a few times and it's reset the code and my CEL has gone off...only to come back on again after about 10-15 mins of driving. I've tried to associate what is causing the CEL to come back on...and I can't figure it out. The CPS is a duralast...which I've read aren't as reliable as the Mopar ones...but why would it come on after 15 or so minutes? Is that how long it takes for the computer to reboot and check everything? I'm not really experiencing any starting/stalling/idling issues, but I just want the CEL to go off. I've added some dielectric grease as suggested in some forums, but still no luck.