Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

95 Cherokee Slave Cylinder

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2008, 08:12 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 2.5L
Default 95 Cherokee Slave Cylinder

Hey everyone,
I am new to the Jeep community and have read some great information here. I just picked up a 95 Cherokee, 2wd, 2.5L for the grand total of $100 bucks. It's been beat on pretty good, but the kid I got it from thought the cylinder head was cracked because it kept leaking water. Turned out to be a rusted out freeze plug and seems to be running fine. I will be doing a lot to this Jeep so I look forward to talking with everyone.

The main question I have for tonight is about the clutch slave cylinder. It's externally mounted (like any older slave), but this bleeding screw doesn't look normal. I'm used to bleeder screws, like on brakes, where you can slip a piece of hose on, turn the screw with a wrench, and bleed away. This doesnt look anything close to normal for me. Is this actually where you bleed the system? I've also read so many different ways to bleed the system. Some say you dont have to, some say you have to replace the master cylinder and slave as a complete unit already filled with fluid, it seems that no one can agree.

Any suggestions...Thanks...Will
Attached Images  
Old 09-06-2008, 08:19 PM
Do you hear banjos?

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts