Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

86 cherokee 2.5l wheres the spark plug current sensor supposed to be?

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2008, 11:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 86
Default 86 cherokee 2.5l wheres the spark plug current sensor supposed to be?

newb here not new to cars, but new to jeeps. i picked up a 86 last night and today i noticed the sensor just layn near the back of the firewall. im sure its not going to do much sitting just any old place.i cant find any info on it. ive searched a few forums and the internet. any help would be great. this is the sensor with the warning tag atached to it. i assume its why my motor runs so rough too. any help in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. thanks guys
Old 12-21-2008, 04:27 AM

Model: Cherokee

I've been a mechanic my whole life, and I've never heard of a "spark plug current sensor" I understand it's a 2.5L, but it is EFI, right? That's an AMC product you have there- last year before they went **** up.

As I'm sure you know- EFI engines without Ignition Control Modules incorporate a crankshaft position sensor, and a camshaft position sensor (also known as a pick-up coil). If it doesn't have a CPS, its got a control module. All engines have a PIP sensor inside the distributor.

On most engines, the pick-up spinning inside the distributor is what gives reference to the computer to supply current for the fuel pump.

If you're experiencing rough running, have you replaced: plugs, cap, wires, rotor, fuel filter- and are sure that you have proper crankcase ventilation; ie. not clogged?

I wish you could elaborate on what this sensor is- perhaps where its located, or even maybe a picture of it would be nice. Apparently it's not needed too much, because if it's anything having to do with spark, it wouldn't run without it!
Old 12-21-2008, 08:15 AM