Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

1991 Cherokee Laredo: Cranks, won't start

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2010, 10:44 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1994
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default 1991 Cherokee Laredo: Cranks, won't start

Hi everyone, I'm new to Jeeps but not at all new to cars that won't run right!

The Jeep in question has the 4.0L engine and automatic trans. Just bought it used; drove it home and now it won't start! Cranks over just fine. Battery is good, and I've kept the charger on it between starting attempts.

I checked for spark, that appears good. I've replaced cap and rotor, as they looked pretty ratty and needed to be changed anyway.

Plugs are wet when they come out, seems to be getting fuel ok. I even put a tiny bit of fresh gas down the intake manifold, to eliminate the possibility of bad gas. It didn't even try to fire.

I checked the position of the distributor rotor, it points to #1 cylinder from roughly 25 deg. BTDC to just after TDC.

I did have the distributor out for a bit, but have since verified it's not 180 degrees out.

I had another guy take a look today, he verified it's not 180 degrees out, and checked spark and fuel. All are there.

The only code of note that comes up is 24 - and I found the TPS is open. But that won't keep it from firing, will it? (The only other code was 12.)

If it's got spark and fuel, and the timing's ok, it has to run, right?

What am I missing?

Thanks,
Dan
Old 12-15-2010, 10:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1989 Laredo
Engine: 4.0 Inline 6 Renix

CPS* CPS* CPS*
(Crankshaft Position Sensor)
What I've done in the past is just unplug the connection, then recconect it, then she fires right up! Good Luck!
Old 12-15-2010, 11:59 PM

Thank you!! I'll try that tomorrow.